Copenhague > Copenhague
01/07/2022 - Etapa 1 - 13,2 km - Contrarreloj individual
Por el camino
Population: 5.8 million
Capital city: Copenhagen
Area: 2,210,579 km2
Specialities: smeurebreud, Stegt flæsk (pork), rolled eel, sakkuk, wienerbrod, sol over Gudhjem, Danish hot dog
National team results: Euro 92 football, Olympic champions in women's handball (3) and men's handball (1), 11 times world champions in badminton. Caroline Wozniacki, former world number 1 tennis player. Bjarne Riis, former Tour de France winner (1996). Mads Pedersen was also world road champion in 2019, as was Amalie Dideriksen in the women's race in 2016. Speedway.
Competitions: Grand Départ of the Tour de France, 2025 Handball World Championship, Danish Badminton Open, Tour of Denmark Cycling. World Equestrian Championships 2022. Speedway Grand Prix.
Festivals: Roskilde Festival (May), Copenhagen Jazz Festival (July), Smukfest Festival, Aarhus Festuge, Culture Night (October) Esbjerg Festival, HC Andersen Festival in Odense.
Economy: agriculture, toys (Lego), breweries (Carlsberg, Tuborg), windmills, hi-fi (Bang & Olufsen, Dynaudio). Copenhagen harbour.
Remarkable sites: Copenhagen, the Little Mermaid, royal castles, Jelling tumulus, Jylland frigate etc...
Websites / FB / Twitter : https://www.visitdenmark.fr
QUEEN LOUISE BRIDGE
It is a granite arch bridge, richly decorated. It has four flagpoles and lamp posts in its centre. It connects the centre of Copenhagen with the district of Norrebro and separates Lake Sortedam to the north-east from Lake Peblinge to the south-west. Its balustrades are decorated with four bronze shields representing the coat of arms of the city of Copenhagen. Two statues, allegories of the Tiber and the Nile, decorate the entrance to the bridge on the Copenhagen side. These bronze copies of Roman antiquities were donated at the end of the 19th century by Carl Jacobsen and his Albertina Foundation, whose aim was to provide the public with works of art in public spaces. The bridge is named after Queen Louise (1818-1898), wife of King Christian IX. She was nicknamed "the mother-in-law of Europe", as four of her six children were married in European royal houses.
The Lakes (Soerne)
Three large artificial lakes divide the Danish capital in two from north to south. These lakes were originally used as freshwater reserves, then as military defences and later as recreational areas. The Sortedams is the northern lake and is divided into two large basins. It also contains two small artificial islands, Fish Island and Bird Island. It is a protected area where many species nest. Peplinge is the middle lake, bordered on the east by the Latin Quarter and its narrow streets. To the west, Norrebro is a lively district by day and night. Sankt Jorgens is the southern lake, also divided into two large basins. This is where the Tycho Brahe planetarium is located. The lake borders the fashionable district of Frederiksberg, where the former Carlsberg brewery, the castle and the zoo are located.
This is the main shopping street in Norrebro, a former working-class district of Copenhagen, which has become trendy and was ranked by Time Out magazine as the "coolest" district in the world in 2021. Several industrial buildings from the late 19th century are listed. On the side of a house on the street, a huge mural by Finnish street artist Seppo Mattinens, painted in the 1990s, depicts a young woman riding a bicycle.
SANKT HANS TORV
The St. John's Market Square is the centre of the Norrebro district, known for its many cafés. At the centre of the square is an imposing granite statue by Jorgen Haugen Sorensen (1934-2921), considered one of the greatest Danish sculptors of the 20th century. Next to the square is the oldest church in the district, St John's Church (1861).
This is the major crossroads in the north of Copenhagen, where five of the city's main roads meet. At its centre is an Art Nouveau tram station, built in 1907 by Peder Vilhelm Jensen-Klint, and affectionately called the Bee, Turtle or Soup Bowl by the locals because of its shape. The former theatre on the square is home to Danish designer Normann, whose creations are considered by the New York Times to be one of Europe's twelve "treasures".
Construction: 1990 to 1992
Capacity: 38,000 seats (in football configuration).
Characteristics: It is the home of FC Copenhagen and the Danish national football team. History: The stadium was built from 1990 to 1992 on the site of the old Idrætsparken Stadium, which was built in 1911. The stadium was sold in 1998 to FC Copenhagen, who also own the adjacent buildings. It was used during Euro 2020.
Trivia: the record attendance at Parken is 60,000 for a Michael Jackson concert in 1997.
Listed as: protected monument in Denmark.
Characteristics: It is one of the best-preserved fortresses in Northern Europe. Built by Christian IV of Denmark, it was part of the defence line of northern Copenhagen.
History: The citadel, built according to Pietro Cataneo's ideal plan, replaced a redoubt built under King Christian IV in 1625 at the entrance to Copenhagen harbour. The contract for the extension was awarded to Dutch military engineer Henrik Ruse. The citadel bravely defended Copenhagen against the English attack during the 1807 bombardment, but had to surrender with the rest of the city. During the German invasion of Denmark on 9 April 1940, German troops landing in the nearby harbour captured the citadel without resistance.
Langelinie Park extends from the Esplanade in the south to the Langelinie Marina and the base of the Langelinie Pier in the north. Officially it includes Kastellet, although this site is usually referred to by its own name. The park contains many monuments, buildings, a marina, statues and a playground. These include the Gefion Fountain, the Ivar Huitfeldt Column and the Little Mermaid.
Ivar Huitfeldt Column
Characteristics: the monument consists of a marble column on a high granite base with a victory statue on top. It is approximately 19 metres high. Four bronze reliefs at the base of the monument, one on each side, show the portrait of Huitfeldt, his coat of arms, his ship and a short text. The design incorporates the cannons, cannonballs and the ship's anchor is attached to the base.
History: Built to commemorate the death of Admiral Ivar Huitfeldt and his men from the HDMS Dannebroge, which exploded and sank during the Battle of Koge Bat in the Great Northern War. The monument was built in 1886 according to a design by Vilhelm Dahlerup. Ferdinand Edvard Ring is the author of the statue of the Roman goddess of victory, Victoria, and the reliefs, while Carl Brummer was in charge of the architectural design of the monument.
THE LITTLE MERMAID
Since 1913, she has been welcoming travellers to Copenhagen harbour. The bronze statue refers to the famous fairy tale written in 1887 by the Danish writer Hans Christian Andersen: the story of a mermaid who dreams of being able to walk on dry land to join her lover, thus sacrificing her life in the sea. Sculptor Edvard Eriksen was inspired by dancer Ellen Price, who in 1909 was a principal dancer at the Royal Theatre in Copenhagen in the ballet The Little Mermaid. The sculptor's wife, Eline Eriksen, served as the model for the sculpture. The original statue was later donated to the city of Copenhagen by the founder of the Carlsberg brewery, Carl Jacobsen, who had commissioned it from Edvard Eriksen after being seduced by the gracefulness of dancer Ellen Price. The statue, made even more famous by the Disney cartoon, has been the victim of several acts of vandalism: painted, decapitated or stripped of its arms.
Characteristics: the fountain was donated to the city of Copenhagen by the Carlsberg Foundation on the occasion of the brewery's 50th anniversary. It was originally intended to be located on the main square in front of the City Hall, but it was decided to build it near the Oresund at its present location.
History: It depicts the goddess Gefion, the legendary founder of the island of Zeeland, on a chariot pulled by oxen. It was designed by Danish artist Anders Bundgaard, who sculpted the naturalistic figures from 1897 to 1999. The basins and decorations were completed in 1908. The fountain was first used on 14 July 1908.
Amaliegade is the longer of the two axes on which the rococo district of Frederiksstaden is centred. The street is lined with elegant mansions, most of which date from the second half of the 18th century. The most notable of these are the house of Lauritz de Thurah and the Yellow Palace, or Bergum Palace.
Construction: 1758 to 1764
Characteristics: It is considered the first example of neoclassical architecture in Copenhagen. History: Originally built as a burgher's house, the mansion was acquired by the Danish royal family. Prince Christian of Glücksborg, later Christian IX of Denmark, took up residence here and it became the birthplace of his children, Frederick VIII of Denmark, Alexandra, Queen of Great Britain, George I of Greece and Maria Feodorovna, Empress of Russia.
Current use: today the building is owned by the Danish Palaces and Estates Agency and houses the office of the Lord Chamberlain (the highest dignitary position in the service of the Royal Family).
Characteristics: The winter residence of the Danish royal family consists of four palaces with identical neo-classical facades and rococo interiors. The palaces surround an octagonal square in the centre of which is a monumental equestrian statue of the founder of Amalienborg, King Frederick V of Denmark.
Special features: four kings of Denmark, Christian VII, Christian VIII, Frederick VIII and Christian IX, gave their names to the four palaces. They surround the square and are designed as mansions for noble families. Their exteriors are identical, but the interiors differ. The first palace, called Sophie Amalienborg, was built between 1669 and 1673 for Queen Sophie Amalie and her husband King Frederick III (died 1670) on a piece of land acquired by King Christian IV outside the old walled city of Copenhagen in the early 17th century. The dowager queen lived here until her death on 20 February 1685.
Bredgade (literally "wide street") is one of the most important streets in Copenhagen. It is one of the main streets in Frederiksstaden, the rococo district laid out in the mid-18th century to commemorate the tercentenary of the House of Oldenburg's accession to the Danish throne. It is lined with a number of fine mansions and historic buildings, including the Eastern Supreme Court, one of Denmark's two main courts, the Alexander Nevsky Orthodox Church, St Ansgar's Cathedral, consecrated in 1941, and the former Frederick's Hospital, now the Danish Museum of Art and Design.
Danish Design Museum
Construction: 1752 to 1757 (building).
Characteristics: it presents the works of famous Danish designers such as Arne Jacobsen, Jacob Jensen and Kaare Klint, one of the two architects who transformed the former Frederick's Hospital (built in 1752-57) into a museum. The exhibition also features a variety of Chinese and German porcelain. Closed for renovation, it reopened in 2022.
History: The museum was founded in 1890. A special building designed by Vilhelm Klein and located next to the premises of Industriforeningen (the Danish Chamber of Commerce and Industry) on the town hall square. Exhibitions were devoted to a particular field such as porcelain, earthenware, silver, furniture, glass and textiles in order to serve as a source of inspiration for craftsmen and manufacturers by showcasing the best of craftsmanship and design from different eras. In 1926, the museum moved to its present building, the former Frederick Hospital, a gift from the banker Emil Glückstadt.
Kongens Nytorv (New King's Square) is a square in the centre of Copenhagen. It was founded in 1670 by King Christian V of Denmark, who modelled it on the Place Vendôme in Paris. He moved the centre of Copenhagen from Gammeltorv, an old medieval square, to this new square, which is paved with trees. In the centre of the square is an equestrian statue of Christian V, dressed as an emperor, by French sculptor Abraham César Lamoureux (1640-1692). Many official buildings surround the square, including the Royal Theatre, Charlottenborg Palace (now the seat of the Royal Academy of Fine Arts), the French Embassy, the Hotel d'Angleterre and the department stores' Magasin du Nord.
Construction: 1673 to 1677
History: This is the oldest building on Kongens Nytorv Square. Originally built as a residence for Ulrik Frederik Gyldenlove, it has served as the seat of the Royal Danish Academy of Fine Arts since its foundation in 1754. Today it also houses Kunsthal Charlottenborg, an institution for contemporary art, and Danmarks Kunstbibliotek, the Royal Art Library.
Royal Danish Theatre
Characteristics: It has a capacity of 1,600 seats
History: the institution was founded as early as 1748, first as the Royal Theatre and later as the National Theatre. The theatre includes opera, the Royal Danish Ballet, classical music concerts (by the Royal Danish Orchestra dating back to 1448) and troupes and plays in many locations.
HANS CHRISTIAN ANDERSENS BOULEVARD
H.C. Andersens Boulevard is the widest and busiest street in Copenhagen. It is 1.3 kilometres long and runs through Indre By, the historic city centre of Denmark's capital. It consists of two triple lanes of traffic. It connects Langebro Bridge and Amager Island in the east with the large public garden of Orstedsparken in the west towards the lakes forming Soerne. It intersects with the Norre Voldgade, at the crossroads of which stands the remains of the Jarmers Tower. The Norre Voldgade heading towards Norreport station. It passes the Copenhagen City Hall and crosses the central square of Radhuspladsen.
The Central Fire Station
Characteristics: it is built in a historicist style. With its crenellated gables, ogival doors and tower, its main source of inspiration is the architecture of the medieval castles of northern Italy.
History: in the mid-19th century, the fire station in the former St. Nicolai church had become obsolete. It was therefore decided to build a new central fire station on the former site of the western city wall. Construction began in 1889 and the new fire station was opened on 30 April 1892. The tower of the building was used for training with rescue nets and large fire ladders.
Recibe información exclusiva del Tour de France