GAP
Charance Castle and Estate
Construction: 10th to 19th century.
History: around the 10th century, a fortified castle was built on the estate. The Bishop of Gap purchased the estate in 1307. It remained the property of the bishops until the Revolution. In the 16th century, the fortified castle was transformed into a large residence by Bishop Gabriel de Sclaffanatis. It was not until 1644 that Bishop Artus de Lionne restored the estate, which had been ransacked during the Wars of Religion, and transformed it into a vast farming estate. Ruined under Louis XIV, the site was rebuilt by the bishops and, at the beginning of the 18th century, took on the layout we know today. During the Revolution, the château was sold as national property. In the 19th century, the upper part of the estate was converted into an English-style garden. Numerous waterfalls were created, the lake was enlarged, boat garages were built on its banks and paths were laid out in the undergrowth. In 1973, the municipality of Gap became the owner and opened it to the public.
Characteristics: nestled against the mountain overlooking Gap, the Charance estate stretches from 100 m to 1,903 m above sea level, offering exceptional panoramic views. Since 2004, the site has been home to the National Alpine Botanical Conservatory, which studies, protects and promotes Alpine flora to the public. Nature lovers can stroll around the lake, in the English garden and in the terraced garden, which has been awarded the "remarkable garden" label and features many different varieties of plants.
Listed as: Historic Monument in 1987.
Gap Cathedral
Construction: 1866 to 1904.
Style: Neo-Gothic.
Architect: Charles Laisné.
Characteristics: the church has a polychrome façade due to the use of different coloured stones. It is inspired by the neighbouring Embrun Cathedral and the Lombard style. The polychromy of the exterior walls comes from various white, grey and pink stones. The bell tower rises to 70 metres, making it the tallest building in the town of Gap.
History: On the initiative of the Bishop of Gap, it was built between 1866 and 1904 in the neo-Gothic style popular at the time, replacing an old medieval cathedral that was falling into ruin.
Trivia: the famous musical group Les Prêtres, originally from the diocese of Gap and Embrun, recorded the video for their album Spiritus Dei in the Gap Cathedral.
Listed as: historic monument since 1906.
Town Hall
Construction: 1743
Style: Classical.
History: The first town hall was built in 1400 on the site of the current Town Hall. The belfry overlooking the building was constructed in 1407. Destroyed by a fire started by the Duke of Savoy's troops in 1692, the building was rebuilt according to plans by the architect Lechat and completed in 1743, as indicated by the inscription in Roman numerals under the balcony. Listed as: the façade and interior staircase of the Town Hall were listed in the supplementary inventory of Historic Monuments in 1948.
Departmental museum
Opening: 1910
Characteristics: it houses collections of archaeology, fine arts, local history and ethnography, earthenware and natural history. In particular, there are remarkable sculptures from the Roman period, jewellery dating from the Bronze Age, a collection of carved furniture from the Queyras region and the mausoleum of the Duke of Lesdiguières.
History: in 1877, Robert Long, archivist of the Hautes-Alpes, created the Gap Archaeological Museum to display the remains of the cathedral. After his death, the collections were brought together in 1881 in the Merlin building, which soon became too small. New premises were needed. Work began in 1903 according to plans drawn up by the departmental architect Chaudier. It opened to the public in September 1910.
Notable feature: the black and white marble mausoleum of François de Bonne de Lesdiguières (1543-1626), which was created during his lifetime by the Lorraine sculptor Jacob Richier (1586-1640). This monument was initially erected in the family castle of Glaizil. During the Revolution, the Hautes-Alpes administration asked the heiress to the mausoleum, Mme de Veynes, to make it available to them. The mausoleum was then placed in Gap Cathedral. When the cathedral was demolished, the mausoleum was transferred to the General Council's meeting room. In 1912, the mausoleum was moved again, this time to the newly created departmental museum.
The Chapel of the Penitents
A place of worship that has become a concert hall renowned for its incredible acoustics, the Chapel of the Penitents has a special atmosphere... between history and modernity.
L'ALPE D'HUEZ
Alpe d'Huez winter sports resort
The Alpe d'Huez ski resort was developed in the 1920s on a site that has been occupied since the Middle Ages. It was here, in particular, that the first ski lift with poles was opened in 1936 by Jean Pomagalski, founder of the Poma company. Today, the Alpe d'Huez resort is part of one of the largest ski areas in France: Alpe d'Huez Grand Domaine Ski, with 250 km of slopes and 10,000 hectares, 840 of which are skiable, with a vertical drop of 2,223 m (between the Pic du Lac Blanc at 3,333 m and the Enversin d'Oz at 1,100 m) and 70 ski lifts. Alpe d'Huez has 135 marked slopes, including 42 green, 37 blue, 39 red and 17 black, as well as 2 snowparks and 1 ski/boardercross. Another special feature of the resort is an 8-km-long black piste that descends from 3,330 m to 1,510 m: Sarenne. The run crosses the pass of the same name, which was used by the Tour de France in 2013. Among the famous skiers who trained in Alpe d'Huez are Fabienne Serrat, Laure Péquegnot, Gauthier de Tessières, Ophélie David and Jennifer Piot.
Notre-Dame-des-Neiges Church
Foundation: built in the 20th century (1969).
Style: contemporary.
Characteristics: it is famous for its original tent-shaped architecture and stained-glass windows painted by Isère artist Arcabas. Legend has it that Dutch priest Reuten rang the bell here every time one of his compatriots won at Alpe d'Huez. In reality, the bells ring every time someone crosses the finish line. Financed by donations from parishioners and numerous benefactors, the church was built using simple materials (concrete for the circular frame, copper for the roof, laminated wood for the framework, and translucent glass for the dome). Trivia: before the influx of journalists became too great during the Tour de France, the Notre-Dame-des-Neiges church was used as the press room for the stages arriving at Alpe d'Huez.
Pic Blanc The undisputed highlight of the area, the 360-degree panorama from the Pic Blanc, at an altitude of 3,330 metres, is rated 3 stars in the Michelin Green Guide. It offers breathtaking views over a fifth of France: Mont Ventoux, Taillefer, Belledonne, Chartreuse, Meije, Muzelle, Mont Blanc and the Aiguilles d'Arves.
Brandes archaeological site
Founded: 12th to 14th century.
Altitude: 1,800 metres
History: At this site, silver-bearing galena was mined from the 12th to the 14th century before being abandoned after the galleries flooded in 1330. The mine was operated on behalf of the Dauphins of Viennois. It enabled André, Dauphin of Burgundy, to finance the construction of Saint-André Collegiate Church in Grenoble in 1228. At the end of the 19th century, a small oratory was built on the ruins of the church.
Characteristics: At the very beginning of the 12th century, silver prospectors arrived at the site of Brandes, the highest medieval village in Europe. For more than two centuries, these men mined a rich deposit of silver-bearing lead, probably linked to the Dauphin's mint. Mining took place at altitudes between 1,750 m and 2,800 m. The ore was extracted using fire and chisels, in open pits and tunnels. The remains provide a picture of a unique society organised around a fortification, a church surrounded by a necropolis, a large settlement and mine tunnels.
Listed as: Historic monument since 1995.
Museum of Huez and Oisans The only high-altitude resort to be awarded the "Musée de France" label and associated with a major archaeological site, the Alpe d'Huez History and Archaeology Museum traces the long history of the village of Huez and its mountain pastures from the Middle Ages to the present day. The museum presents visitors with two new displays through the permanent exhibitions "The spectacle of the mountains" and "Brandes and the rush for silver in the 12th and 13th centuries". There is also an area dedicated to the Second World War with the exhibition "Summer 1944. The Maquis of Oisans".
Síguenos
Recibe información exclusiva del Tour de France

