Binche > Longwy
07/07/2022 - Stage 6 - 220 km - Hilly
On the road
Provinces: Liège, Hainaut, Namur, Luxembourg
Population: 3,6 million
Surface area: 16,901 km2
Specialities: beers (Jupiler, Chimay, Orval...), péket (Liège), genever, Tournai rabbit, Liège black pudding, Liège violet, waffles, chocolates, Herve cheese, Huy dumpling, flamiche, dinanderie, Binche lace, Tournai porcelain.
Sports clubs: Royal Mouscron-Péruwelz, R Charleroi SC, Standard de Liège.
Competitions: Liège-Bastogne-Liège, Flèche wallonne, Grand Prix of Belgium, Boucles de Spa, 24 hours of Spa.
Festivals: Binche carnival, Ath and Mons ducasses, Namur stilt walkers,
Economy: mines and industries (in decline), headquarters of Microsoft, GSK Biologicals, Caterpillar Europe, Fedex Europe, image technologies, aeronautics.
Tourist sites: Tournai Cathedral, belfries, mining sites, Waterloo battlefield, Namur citadel, Grand Curtius, Charleroi Museum of Photography, Royal Museum of Mariemont.
PROVINCE OF HAINAUT
Population: 1 345 270 (2018)
Capital city: Mons
Boroughs: Ath, Charleroi, Mons, Mouscron, Soignies, Thuin, Tournai
Surface area: 3,786 km2
Largest city: Charleroi (Pop: 202,000)
Economy: coal, chemicals, steel, glass, mechanical industry.
Specialities: rabbit with prunes and beer, Escavèche de Virelles, Binche doubles, cheese pancakes, pork belly, péket (aperitif)
Tourism: Mons belfry, Tournai (belfry, main square and cathedral), Binche ramparts, Chimay castle.
ERQUELINNES (Pop: 10 000)
A former border post, the first Belgian municipality to be watered by the Sambre, has a marina.
Castle of Solre-sur-Sambre
Construction: 14th century
Listing: listed heritage in 1951.
Characteristics: located near an enclave of the Principality of Liege and at the confluence of the Thure and Sambre rivers, the castle of Solre-sur-Sambre defended the border. An important example of medieval military architecture in Hainaut, it has retained its quadrilateral layout with circular towers reinforcing the four corners. On the south side, an imposing keep-porch gives access to the inner courtyard. Two small buildings have been erected against the curtain walls over time.
History: built towards the end of the 13th century and altered several times, the castle of Solre-sur-Sambre is no less well preserved. The land and then the castle changed hands several times until 1628, when it belonged to the De Mérode family. A private residence, it cannot be visited.
BEAUMONT (Pop: 7,200)
One of Beaumont's specialities is a macaroon, the recipe for which is said to have been given by one of Napoleon's cooks, who stayed here on 14 June 1815 before going to Waterloo. There is a proverb linked to Beaumont: "Ville de Beaumont, ville de malheur : arrivé à midi, pendu à une heure". “Town of Beaumont, Town of Misery: arrived at midday, hung at one.” This phrase is said to have been uttered by one of the three boilermakers from Auvergne who molested the Emperor Charles V when he came to Beaumont in August 1549.
Foundation: built from the 11th century.
History: a former keep. Developed and enlarged into a fortress dominating the Hantes valley, it is the origin of the town of Beaumont. It is the most important vestige of the ancient walls. Current destination: it houses a museum retracing the history of the town. It also recalls Napoleon's visit to Beaumont.
FROIDCHAPELLE (Pop: 3,950)
Cycling complex with 11 downhill tracks. It includes an initiation area for the youngest, 3 dirt courses, 4 free ride tracks, a dual slalom track, a pump-track area and an area reserved for trials.
Eau d'Heure Lake
Location: on the course of the Eau d'Heure river, straddling the provinces of Hainaut and Namur. Surface area: 6.17 km2
History: this vast complex, consisting of five reservoirs, is the largest artificial water body in Belgium: the site has a total surface area of some 1,800 hectares - of which more than 600 hectares are water bodies, 600 hectares are forests and 600 hectares are meadows.
Plate Taille Dam
Foundation: built in the 20th century (1977).
Characteristics: built in 1977, this dam has a crest length of 790 m and a surface area of 389 hectares. It is the largest dam in Belgium. Its panoramic tower is more than 107 m high and has a view of all the Eau d'Heure lakes. This hydroelectric power station is equipped with 4 powerful turbines, capable of a flow of 400 m³ per second.
PROVINCE OF NAMUR
Population: 482,000 (2013)
Capital city: Namur
Surface area: 3,666 km2
Arrondissements: Namur, Dinant, Philippeville.
Sports club: BC Namur capitale (basketball).
Major events: Festival of Wallonia, festival of Namur. Andenne Bear Carnival. Meuse-et-Sambre festival. Military music festival.
Main tourist sites: citadel of Namur, castles of Fernelmont, Lavaux-Sainte-Anne and Vierves-sur-Viroin. Collegiate church of Dinant. Félicien Rops Museum.
Economy: administration, SMEs, construction, tertiary sector.
CHIMAY (Pop: 10,000)
The town is home to the castle of the Princes of Chimay, where Princess Elisabeth de Chimay lives, and the collegiate church of Saints-Pierre-et-Paul. Not far from there is the lake of Virelles, of great ornithological interest. But Chimay is best known for the nearby Notre-Dame de Scourmont Abbey (in Forges), where Cistercian Trappist monks make beer and cheese. In 2018, the town organised the Belgian time trial championship on its car circuit (Yves Lampaert won).
In 1850, Prince Joseph de Caraman-Chimay invited the monks of the Abbey of Saint-Sixte (West Flanders) to found a new Cistercian abbey. From 1862 onwards, beer was produced from the water in the abbey's wells. After the Second World War, the monks took over the abbey, which had been occupied by the Germans, and rebuilt the brewery. In 1948, Father Theodore De Haene enrolled at the University of Leuven, where he learned about beer production from Professor De Clerck. Together they created the new beer yeast for the future Chimay beers. In 1956, the community produced a special beer for Christmas. This beer is now marketed under the name Chimay Bleue. In 2012, production exceeded 170,000 hectolitres per year. More than 50 pc of Chimay's turnover comes from exports. Chimay beer is neither filtered nor pasteurised.
Castle of the Princes of Chimay
Construction: from the 11th century.
Characteristics: on a rocky promontory overlooking the valley of the Eau Blanche (a tributary of the Viroin, part of the Meuse watershed), a 16th century residential manor house still inhabited by the princely family of Chimay.
History: in 1486, Chimay was made a principality by Maximilian of Austria (1459-1519), King of the Romans, who wanted to thank the Count of Chimay, Charles de Croÿ (1455-1527), for his unfailing support of the Habsburgs, becoming the first prince (and future godfather of Charles V).
Trivia: in the castle died on January 15, 1835, princess Thérésa de Riquet de Caraman de Chimay, wife of François-Joseph (1771-1843), better known under the name of Madame Tallien (from an ex-husband). Intelligent, beautiful, she developed political and cultural activities during the French Revolution, holding various literary salons. During the "Terror", imprisoned several times, she seduced the revolutionary Tallien, whom she married. She got him to adopt a more lenient approach and took a stand against Robespierre. She then had several lovers (Paul Barras and Gabriel-Julien Ouvrard among others) but disdained the eager courtship of a young officer named Napoleon Bonaparte.
Special features: Theresa had a small theatre built, which was partly destroyed in a fire and rebuilt as a miniature replica of the one built by Louis XV at the Château de Fontainebleau. Listing: list of Wallonia's exceptional building heritage. Listed heritage (2004).
Departments: Ardennes, Aube, Marne, Haute-Marne, Meurthe-et-Moselle, Meuse, Moselle, Bas-Rhin, Haut-Rhin, Vosges
Population: 5.55 million inhabitants
Surface area: 57,441 km2
Specialities: champagne, sauerkraut, Alsace wines, Nancy blood sausage, Rethel white pudding, flammekueche, kouglof, Ardennes ham, baba au rhum, mirabelle plum, quiche lorraine, madeleine de Commercy.
Sports clubs: RC Strasbourg, Stade de Reims, FC Metz, AS Nancy-Lorraine, ESTAC Troyes, FC Mulhouse (football), SIG Strasbourg, SLUC Nancy Basket (basketball), Etoile Noire de Strasbourg, Scorpions de Mulhouse (ice hockey), Events: Moselle Open, Strasbourg International Tennis Championships (tennis), Reims International Jumping, Boucles de la Marne, Stanislas Meeting, Colmar Marathon, Paris-Colmar (athletics)
Economy: automotive (PSA Mulhouse and Trémery, Renault in Batilly, Bugatti, Smart), steel (Arcelor Mittal in Florange), luxury goods (Lalique), aerospace (Clemessy in Mulhouse), railways, banks (Crédit Mutuel), agriculture, beer, winegrowing (Champagne, Alsace wines). Tourism.
Festivals: Christmas markets in Strasbourg and Colmar, Fêtes de Saint-Nicolas in Nancy, Livre sur la place in Nancy, Book Fair in Colmar, Forum du livre in Saint-Louis, Festival RenaissanceS in Bar-le-Duc, Medieval Festival in Sedan, International Geography Festival in Saint-Dié-les-Vosges, Fantastic Film Festival in Gérardmer.
Tourist sites: Place Stanislas in Nancy, Grande île in Strasbourg, Reims Cathedral, Saint-Rémi Basilica and the Archbishop's Palace of Tau in Reims, ND de l'Epine Basilica, citadels of Longwy and Neuf-Brisach, Champagne hillsides, Claude and Duval factory in Saint-Dié-les-Vosges, Unterlinden Museum in Colmar, Centre Pompidou in Metz, Nancy School of Art, Christmas markets.
Region: Grand Est
Surface area: 5,230 km2
Number of cantons: 19
Number of communes: 452
Prefecture: Charleville-Mézières (Pop : 46,000)
Sub-prefectures: Rethel, Sedan, Vouziers
Specialities: bacon salad, bare-assed cacasse, Rethel white pudding (IGP), dry-cured ham and dry-cured ham nuts from the Ardennes (IGP), soft cake, sugar cake, pâté en croute, local beers, red turkey / Typical know-how: colouring mill in Ecordal (the last factory of natural colouring earth in France), basketry in Boult aux Bois.
Economy: forge and stamping (1st French production centre, nearly 30 pc of national production), foundry (1st producing department in France, 20 pc of national production of moulded parts), plastics industry, food industry (3,000 farms, 18,000 tons of beef per year), leather goods, wood processing *, automobile ** * Unilin (Bazeilles), the largest producer in France. * Unilin (Bazeilles): a group specialising in the manufacture of veneer and wood panels, the Bazeilles factory is one of the world's leading recycling plants for wood panels, and the group also owns the Quick Step brand. ** Stellantis (Ex PSA - Les Ayvelles): 1st private employer in the Ardennes, 1,650 employees, the main plant for the manufacture of automotive foundry parts for the PSA group in Europe These two factories are on the route of the stage
Heritage: Sedan castle (the largest in Europe, 35,000 m2), Place Ducale (twin of Place des Vosges), Rocroi, a town fortified by Vauban, the Trans-Ardennes greenway (130 km, 240,000 users per year), Vieilles-Forges lake and Bairon lake, Ayvelles fort, Charlemont fort in Givet, Woinic, the colossus of the Ardennes (a giant wild boar, 8.5 m high, 50 tons)
Sports clubs: football (Club Sportif Sedan Ardennes, in N1 today, two French cups in 1956 and 1961), basketball: Etoile de Charleville-Mézières (Men's National 2 D4) and Flammes Carolo Basket (Women's Basketball League D1), roller hockey (Diables de Rethel, Elite D1) Competitions: Circuit international des Ardennes (cycling), Sedan-Charleville (half-marathon, the oldest city-to-city pedestrian race in Europe)
Culture: World Festival of Puppet Theatres (next edition in September 2023), Cabaret Vert music festival (100,000 festival-goers), Museum of War and Peace in the Ardennes in Novion-Porcien, Rimbaud Museum and Museum of the Ardennes in Charleville-Mézières, Museum of Metallurgy in Bogny-sur-Meuse, Museum of Slate in Rimogne, Museum of Felt in Mouzon Websites : www.ardennes.com
ROCROI (Pop : 2,300)
Decided by King Francis I, the construction of the fortifications of Rocroi began under Henry II in 1555. The Battle of Rocroi took place on 19 May 1643 during the Thirty Years' War. It pitted the army of Flanders, the Spanish army commanded by Francisco de Melo, which was besieging Rocroi, against the army of Picardy, the French army led by Louis of Bourbon, Duke of Enghien (the future Grand Condé). This was an important French victory, which marked the end of the military supremacy of the Spanish tercios and the beginning of the reversal of the balance of power in Europe.
Enclosure of Rocroi
Construction: 1555 to 1675
History: Henry II built the first enclosure to protect the border of Champagne against Spanish attacks from the fortresses of Chimay, Philippeville and Charlemont built by Charles V. The place remained in the front line of border protection until 1888. It was constantly adapted. Vauban integrated it into the second line of his Pré carré, despite his severe opinion on its design. The engineer completed the bastion system and built the fortifications and half-moons of the second line of fortifications. In the interior, he built a military hospital, a powder magazine, an arsenal, barracks, a large underground passageway under the bastion du Roy and a covered way on the second line of fortifications.
Current destination: about 35,000 to 40,000 tourists visit the fortifications each year, and the town of Rocroi aims to attract more than 100,000. The municipality has transformed the Vauban powder magazine into a media library, the former military hospital into a cultural centre and the arsenal into social housing, while preserving their architecture.
Classification: classified as a historical monument in 1981.
SECHEVAL (Pop: 600)
Ardennes Regional Nature Park
Creation: December 2011.
Surface area: 1,160 km2.
Characteristics: it includes 92 communes and 76,000 inhabitants. It covers 22 pc of the area of the Ardennes department. Charleville-Mézières, prefecture of the Ardennes, has the status of gateway city associated with the park. From a geological point of view, it is a transitional zone, with a remarkable diversity of landscapes and a great wealth of natural heritage: it includes 54 areas of ecological, faunistic and floristic interest and 7 Natura 2000 sites, forests, peat bogs, moors, dry grasslands, slate quarries, rocky escarpments, steep valleys, hedgerows, etc.
CHARLEVILLE-MEZIERES (Pop: 46,500)
Prefecture of the Ardennes, on the banks of the Meuse, birthplace of the poet Arthur Rimbaud, Charleville-Mézières is also famous for its World Puppet Theatre Festival, which makes it the undisputed capital of the puppet arts. An unavoidable stage of the Circuit des Ardennes, the town has twice hosted the Tour de France, for a finish (victory of Éric Léman) and a start in 1969, and for a start in 2003 (victory in Saint-Dizier by Alessandro Petacchi). It also hosted the start of the 2021 Tour de l'Avenir. Among the riders from Charleville to have participated in the Tour de France: Édouard Pètre (1924 to 1927).
Listing: listed as a historical monument in 1980.
Foundation: built in the 17th century (1626).
Style: classical (architect: Claude Briau).
History: made of brick and stone, the mill is large to face the Gate of France, symmetrically built on the other side of the town. It was burnt down in 1754. In 1847, two waterwheels shared the entire mill under the arch and drove three pairs of millstones. In 1876, the re-profiling of the Meuse for navigation condemned its service.
Current destination: Rimbaud Museum.
Arthur Rimbaud Route
A tour allows visitors to discover the city of Charleville-Mézières by following the footsteps of the man with soles of wind. For some years now, the route has been punctuated by works of art allowing to take a different look at the city that saw the birth of one of the greatest French poets. In addition to the Arthur Rimbaud Museum and the House of Elsewhere, the poet's teenage home, the walk leads to the house where he was born, the school he attended, the former Rossat Institute, and the station square which inspired his poem “To Music”. The tour ends with the Charleville cemetery where he was buried in 1891. The Rimbaud route is regularly enriched by the installation or creation of contemporary art. In 2011, Michel Goulet's poem-chairs were installed on the Rimbaud quay, between the museum and the Maison des Ailleurs. In 2017, Michel Gillet's heart-shaped Rimbaud sculpture was installed in the station square alongside the bust that has been there since 1901.
DONCHERY (Pop: 2,200)
Napoleon III and Otto von Bismarck met in a weaver's house in Donchery, on the fringes of the battle of Sedan in 1870, to negotiate the conditions of the French surrender. It is also the birthplace of Joël Muller, player and later coach of FC Metz and RC Lens.
Construction: 12th to 17th centuries.
Style: Romanesque, Gothic and Flamboyant Gothic.
Characteristics: Sainte-Onésime church is one of the most important Gothic buildings in the region. Built at various times, the church has a square tower dating from the 12th century. History: until the end of the 13th century, the church was a priory dependent on the Counts of Rethel. From 1771 to 1784, the priory was dependent on the abbey of Saint-Médard de Soissons. The church had a bell dating from 1358, which was taken away by the Germans in 1917. The building was listed as a historical monument in 1911.
Listing: Historical Monument in 1911.
SEDAN (Pop: 16 000)
Labelled as a Town of Art and History, the town gained importance in the first half of the 15th century when it became a stronghold of the La Marck family. From the 16th century onwards, it was the seat of the principality of Sedan. The latter was attached to the kingdom of France in 1642, during the Thirty Years' War. In the 18th and 19th centuries, Sedan was a stronghold of the textile industry in France and in Europe. It was again the scene of battles during the three major conflicts in 1870, 1914 and 1940. The first of these, the defeat of Sedan in 1870, marked the end of the Second Empire, the fall of Napoleon III and the advent of the Third Republic. Sedan is the birthplace of Yannick Noah, the last French winner of the French Open, whose father Zacharie played for the local football club. It is also the home of Emmanuel Magnien, who took part in seven Tours de France between 1994 and 2002. The Tour stopped here once in 2003, when Australian Baden Cooke won the stage.
Dijonval royal cloth factory
Foundation: built in the 17th century.
Style: classical (architect: Nicolas Cadeau).
Characteristics: when the Dijonval royal cloth factory was founded in 1646, Sedan, newly attached to France, became the first centre for the production of fine "Dutch style" cloth. The sumptuous central building dates from 1755 and the wings in return from 1778. A belfry tops the factory. All the richness of the decoration is concentrated on the windows and the play of curves and counter-curves of the clasps.
Current use: Today, this sumptuous building has been converted into luxury accommodation. Listing: Historical Monument in 1977-1980.
Foundation: 15th century (1424)
Characteristics: on a promontory on the banks of the Meuse. For centuries, the castle has held a record as the largest fortress in Europe. 35,000 m² of rooms, chambers and barracks are spread over seven floors. The walls are sometimes 25 metres thick. More than 4,000 men could live there.
History: property of the Princes of Sedan, the castle became French in 1642 when the principality of Sedan was attached to the kingdom of France.
Listing: Historical monument in 1965.
BAZEILLES (Pop: 2,400)
The battle of Bazeilles (or fighting of Bazeilles) took place from 31 August to 1 September 1870, as part of the more general battle of Sedan, during the Franco-Prussian war. This episode, seen as heroic and representative of patriotic feelings, inspired, among other representations, the most famous patriotic painting by Alphonse de Neuville, entitled Les Dernières Cartouches (The last cartridges, 1873). Bazeilles became the symbol of the marine troops. The anniversary of Bazeilles is celebrated every year in all the troops of France and overseas and on the battlefields themselves. A House of the Last Cartridge evokes the battle. There are several castles in the commune, including Château de Lamecourt and Château de Montvillers, which has been converted into a training centre for the CS Sedan football club.
Construction: 16th century
Style: fortified castle
Characteristics: the castle is surrounded by water and parkland, below wooded slopes. The two square towers surrounding the entrance are the oldest parts and, like the rectangular layout of the moat, must date from the 16th century. The other buildings, the main building and the two wings, have been altered several times, with the addition of two other smaller towers, the transformation of the windows into a neo-Gothic style and the development of the park.
History: the castle is attested since the 16th century. It was occupied by the Ligueurs in 1588 and taken over by the Protestants the same year. It then hosted a Temple for the Reformed religion. In the 19th century, the castle became the property of manufacturers, the Ternaux and then the Montagnac, whose factories were on the estate, on the other side of the pond. Élizé de Montagnac was the owner in the 19th century.
Listing: Historic Monument in 1986
MARGUT (Pop: 800)
There are two casemates of the Maginot Line on the municipal territory.
In Florenville (Belgium), 10 km away : Orval Abbey
Foundation: built in the 10th century (rebuilt in the 20th century).
History: founded by Benedictines in the 11th century, the abbey became part of the Cistercian order in 1131 with the arrival of monks from the abbey of Trois-Fontaines. Destroyed during the French Revolution, the abbey resurfaced from its ruins in 1926, in a style combining Romanesque and art deco inspiration. Today, the community of Trappist brothers follows the rule of Saint Benedict, ora et labora, which requires them to divide their days between "prayer and work". They produce honey sweets, cheese and above all their famous Trappist beer, Orval.
Trivia: according to legend, the abbey was founded in 1132 at the wish of Countess Matilda, who miraculously found her lost wedding ring on the site and exclaimed in gratitude, "This is a valley of gold! Listed as an exceptional heritage site in Wallonia since 2013.
Population: 184,083 (2019)
Sub-prefectures: Verdun, Commercy
Surface area: 6 211 km2
Specialties: Madeleines of Commercy (delicacy), Dragees of Verdun (confectionery), Red currant jam in Bar-le-Duc (local tradition), Mirabelle plum (fruit and spirits), Craft beers (Charmoy, Nettancourt, Rarécourt, Chaillon, Dun, Morley), Côtes de Meuse wines (IGP), strawberry cakes in Revigny-sur-Ornain, Brie de Meaux (cheese), Meuse truffle, Boucherie Polmard (meat), Bergère de France (textile).
Sports: Aeronautics, Aeromodelling, Gliding, Microlighting, Hang-gliding, Cycling (Mountain biking, Cyclocross), Cycle touring (Meuse cycle tour), Horse riding, Mountain climbing, Motorcycling, Hiking, Triathlon, Rowing, Canoeing, Sport fishing, Sailing, Underwater diving, Caving.
Events: Meuse Grande Guerre Half-Marathon, 10 km of Verdun, Trail of the trenches, Féeria barisienne, Trail des ducs Tour de Madine, Echappées en Meuse, la Route des Hommes, etc. Economy: important crafts and international outlook. 4 major sectors: food processing, industry (aeronautics, energy and agriculture), chemicals and wood. Innovation in several sectors of activity: optics, agriculture, defence.
Festivals: RenaissanceS Festival in Bar-le-Duc, Grand Festival in Verdun, Festival des Granges in Laimont, Festival des crèches in Muzeray, Vent des Forêts in Fresnes-au-Mont, sound and light show Des Flammes à la lumière in Verdun, Les Vieux métiers in Azannes, Ma rue prend l'Aire in Pierrefitte-sur-Aire, Mondial Air Ballons in Chambley, Les bielles meusiennes in Madine.
Websites and social networks: www.meuse.fr / https://twitter.com/deptmeuse / https://www.facebook.com/D%C3%A9partement-de-la-Meuse-89337608659 / www.tourisme-meuse.com / https://twitter.com/cdt55 / https://www.facebook.com/tourisme.meuse/
THONELLE (Pop: 160)
It was at the château de Thonnelle (home of the Abbé de Courville) that Louis XVI should have been housed after his escape on 21 June 1791, which was halted at Varennes-en-Argonne.
In Avioth (2.5 km away) Basilica of Notre-Dame d'Avioth
Foundation: built in the 14th century.
History: at the beginning of the 12th century, in the small village of Avioth, an inhabitant of a neighbouring village found a wooden statue of the Virgin Mary emerging from a thorn bush. In response to this miraculous discovery, a chapel was built, which became a sanctuary and a very important place of pilgrimage. The small Romanesque chapel was no longer sufficient and the building was greatly expanded until the church was consecrated as a basilica by Pope John Paul II in 1993.
Special features: next to the Avioth basilica, the Recevresse, a small building in the flamboyant Gothic style, is a unique work of art. A real stone lace, it was used to receive offerings from pilgrims. A life-size reproduction of the Recevresse can be found at the Cité de l'architecture et du patrimoine in Paris.
Listing: listed as a Historic Monument in 1840.
Marville (Pop: 560)
Beautiful Renaissance houses dating from the Spanish occupation can be seen in the village.
Foundation: built in the 20th century (1953).
History: former air base in France built within the framework of NATO. The base was occupied by Canadian Air Force units from 1953 to 1967. When in March 1966 General De Gaulle announced the withdrawal of France from the integrated NATO command, all American and Canadian forces had to leave French territory. The 439th and 441st Squadrons left Marville for good on 1 April 1967 for the Lahr base in West Germany.
Foundation: built in the 13th century.
History: built in the first third of the 13th century to compensate for the smallness and remoteness of the primitive church, it was initially a hall church which was gradually surrounded by six chapels in the 15th and 16th centuries. The bell tower was struck by lightning in 1766 and replaced by a wooden dome.
Listing: listed as a historical monument in 1920.
Sub-prefectures: Lunéville, Toul and Briey
Surface area: 5,246 km².
Specialties: bergamots (confectionery made with bergamot essence, same fragrance as Cologne), macaroons from the Macarons sisters, mirabelle plums, rum baba (invented at the request of King Stanislas who could no longer eat dry cakes), saint Epvre (cake), pâté lorrain, quiche lorraine, bouchée à la reine.
Sports clubs: AS Nancy Lorraine (football), Stade Lorrain Université Club Nancy Basket (Pro B basketball), Grand Nancy Métropole Hand Ball, Vandœuvre Nancy Volley Ball, Grand Nancy Volley Ball
Events: Stanislas athletics meeting, Nancy-Metz à la marche, Saint-Nicolas race. Half-marathon of Greater Nancy.
Economy: steel, mining, finance and law, construction, logistics and trade, business tourism, cultural industries, digital economy, materials, health engineering. Tourism. Universities.
Tourist sites: Place Stanislas in Nancy, Villa Majorelle, École de Nancy heritage, Château de Lunéville, Saint-Nicolas-de-Port basilica, Longwy ramparts, Rosières-aux-Salines national stud farm, Pont-à-Mousson abbey.
Festivals: Nancy Jazz Pulsations, Nancyphonies, Live sur la Place. Saint Nicolas festival. Festival of Froville. EuroBD Festival in Longwy.
Websites : www.meurthe-et-moselle.fr / www.tourisme-meurtheetmoselle.fr
LONGUYON (Pop: 5,200)
Close to the Belgian and Luxembourg borders, at the gateway to the "Iron Lorraine", the Longuyon region has a plateau relief largely cut by picturesque rivers. It is the birthplace of the singer Richard Gotainer. His mother ran a clothing shop here. A native of Longuyon, Marcel Rottié rode the Tour de France in 1912, 1913 and 1914.
Foundation: rebuilt in the 13th century.
History: mentioned for the first time in 634 in the will of deacon Adalgisel Grimo, the monastery of Sainte-Agathe was transformed into a collegiate church in 973 by the Archbishop of Trier and then into a Benedictine priory at the end of the 12th century. The church was rebuilt and consecrated in 1287.
Listing: listed as a Historic Monument in 1875.
CONS-LA-GRANDVILLE (Pop: 500)
Worth seeing for its church of Saint-Hubert (18th century on a 12th century crypt), listed as a historic monument in 1987 and its imposing castle.
Castle of Cons-la-Grandville
Construction: 11th to 18th century.
Style: classical and Renaissance.
Characteristics: residence since the 17th century of the Marquis of Lambertye, the castle of Cons-la-Grandville represents an architectural synthesis of the Romanesque period to the classical period.
History: the present castle is built on the remains of a medieval castle commissioned by Dudon de Cons, a crusading companion of Godfrey of Bouillon, on a rocky promontory surrounded by the village and wooded hills. It retains the foundations and the lower, massive, fortified parts (to the north and east) from the medieval period. The whole was rebuilt with Jaumont stone from the Renaissance onwards.
Listing: Historical Monument in 1947.
REHON (Pop: 3,800)
Réhon is the birthplace of cartoonist Jean-Marc Reiser (1941-1983), known for his fiercely humorous drawings. A pillar of Charlie Hebdo, Hara-Kiri and L'Echo des Savanes, famous for his character Gros Dégueulasse (Filthy Fatman), he received the Grand Prix at the Angoulême Festival in 1978. He died of cancer in 1983 and is buried in the Montparnasse cemetery in Paris.
Receive exclusive news about the Tour