See you on 25th October for the announcement of the routes for the Tour de France and Tour de France Femmes with Zwift in 2024.

With the Tour de France Club, log in today and try to win seats for the official presentation.

2023 Edition

Stage won 0
General Ranking 12
Competitors in race 8
Sporting managers : GERARD Arnaud / HINAULT Sébastien

The history

The dream of a territory (which was annexed to France in 1532 but has retained its distinct flavour) ever since Hinault retired came true in 2014 with the Tour de France debut of an unashamedly Breton team whose main sponsor was the regional council, headed by the politician and great cycling aficionado Jean-Yves Le Drian. Before the Grand Départ from Yorkshire, it was the first regional team from Western France to take part in the Tour de France since 1961.

Its passion for cycling and four Tour winners (Lucien Petit-Breton, Jean Robic, Louison Bobet and Bernard Hinault) make Brittany a hotbed and, in some way, the cradle of French cycling. However, 27 years have gone by since the last time a Breton rider wore the yellow jersey (Stéphane Heulot in 1996). Before signing for the team from his home region, Warren Barguil ended a 23-year drought in Foix in 2017, when he became the first Breton to win a stage since Pascal Lino in 1994.

The team was born in 1994 as an amateur outfit on the initiative of industrialist and cycling lover Jean Floc'h. It became a professional squad in 2005 and entered the second division of the sport in 2011. Bretagne-Séché Environnement became Fortuneo, which joined forces with a variety of co-sponsors, and now competes as Arkéa–Samsic. The team turned heads in its first Tour de France starts thanks to joining numerous breakaways, Brice Feillu's 16th place overall in 2014 (an exploit he matched in 2017) and the striking disqualification in 2015 of its Argentinian leader Eduardo Sepúlveda, who lost his nerve after a mechanical problem and hitched a ride in a car, not to mention British sprinter Dan McLay bursting onto the stage with third place in Montauban in 2016. Hiring the sprinter André Greipel turned out to be a big mistake, but Warren Barguil won the French championship and finished tenth in the 2019 Tour in his return to the roots. Signing Nairo Quintana took the Breton team to a whole new level, but the Colombian's first two participations in the Tour with Arkéa–Samsic were nothing to write home about. In 2021, he wore the polka-dot jersey for five days. In 2022, he seemed to be back to his usual self, landing sixth place overall, but his disqualification following the detection of tramadol in his system also cost him his place in the pro peloton. The Breton outfit, promoted to WorldTour level thanks to its results, is now banking on the rise of its fresh recruit Clément Champoussin.

  • Final victory0
  • Stages victory0
  • Yellow Jersey0
  • Other race Won0

Overall wins: 0 

Podium finishes: 0

Stage wins: 0

Secondary classification wins: 0

Yellow jerseys: 0

STARTS: 9 (since 2014)

6: Nairo Quintana's overall place in the 2022 Tour… at least until his disqualification

5 July 2014: Benoît Jarrier launches Bretagne-Séché Environnement's first breakaway in its very first kilometre in the Tour de France.
7 July 2016: Dan McLay claims the first Tour de France stage podium for the team with third place in Montauban, behind Mark Cavendish and Marcel Kittel.
28 July 2019: Warren Barguil (tenth) nets Arkéa–Samsic its first top 10 overall finish, building on Brice Feillu's sixteenth places in 2014 and 2017.

Follow us

Receive exclusive news about the Tour