2018 Edition

Stages won 0
Overall ranking 12
Competitors in race 8
Sporting managers : DAMIANI Roberto / GUIBERTEAU Christian http://www.equipe-cofidis.com/


The Cofidis team's first manager was Cyrille Guimard, who left after the first year (1997). From the very beginning, the team seduced great names of world cycling who nevertheless did not manage to shine in the Tour de France with Cofidis: Lance Armstrong, Maurizio Fondriest, Tony Rominger, Francesco Casagrande, Frank Vandenbroucke… American Bobby Julich (who would later admit to doping) clinched third place in the 1998 Tour, but it was in 2000 that a new chapter in the team's history was written when its Scottish star David Millar took the yellow jersey in his Tour de France debut in the symbolic setting of Futuroscope, and the squad sponsored by the loan company lit up France in July.

Millar's namesake David Moncoutié personifies the continuity of the sponsor from the Nord department in the world of cycling. With eleven Tour de France starts, the expert climber lived through all the ups and downs of the Cofidis team and bagged two stage wins in the process. The first one came in Figeac, in his home department of Lot, thus earning him a special place in the annals of the Grande Boucle!

The Cofidis star has faded somewhat following their relegation to the second division in 2009 and the loss of their best men, including their most recent stage winner (2008) Sylvain Chavanel, but it remains a mainstay of cycling. The team is banking on 28-year-old Nacer Bouhanni to bring it back to its winning ways in its 22nd Tour de France start. Jimmy Casper, the most recent French rider to win a mass sprint (2006), did it in Cofidis colours. However, the team now led by Cédric Vasseur has more than one string to its bow, including versatile Christophe Laporte and gutsy Spanish riders such as the Herrada brothers and Dani Navarro.

  • Final victory 0
  • Stages victories 10
  • Yellows Jerseys 4
  • Other races Won 3

Stage wins : 10

  • 1997: Laurent Desbiens in Perpignan (following the relegation of Sergei Outschakov)
  • 2000: David Millar in Futuroscope (ITT)
  • 2002: David Millar in Béziers
  • 2003: David Millar in Nantes (ITT)
  • 2004: Stuart O'Grady in Chartres and David Moncoutié in Figeac
  • 2005: David Moncoutié in Digne-les-Bains
  • 2006: Jimmy Casper in Strasbourg
  • 2008: Samuel Dumoulin in Nantes and Sylvain Chavanel in Montluçon

Secondary classification wins : 3

  • 1998: Christophe Rinero (polka-dot jersey) and team classification
  • 2008: Sylvain Chavanel (most combative rider)

Yellow jersey s: 4

  • 1998: Laurent Desbiens, two days
  • 2000: David Millar, two days


21: participations in the Tour de France (continuously since 1997).


2 August 1998: Cofidis wins the team classification prize on the Champs-Élysées.

1 July 2000: young David Millar causes a sensation in Futuroscope by claiming the opening time trial of the last Tour of the 20th century.

15 July 2004: David Moncoutié joins a select group of riders who have won a stage in their home department after coming out on top in Figeac (Lot).

Follow us

Receive exclusive news about the Tour

Partners of Le Tour

By browsing this site, you accept the use of Cookies in order to offer to you an advertising tailored to your interests, and to perform traffic statistics.

To find out more