UNVEILING OF THE ROUTES FOR 2023

The unveiling of the routes for the 2023 Tour de France and Tour de France Femmes avec Zwift will take place on Thursday 27th October from 11.30 (UTC+2) at the Palais des Congrès convention centre in Paris.

Three times a stage town Sub-prefecture of the Jura (39)
Population:
24,800 (Dolois), 56,200 for the 47 communes of the Grand Dole Urban Community
Specialities: Franche-Comté pork, Morteau sausage, cheeses (Morbier, Comté), Franche-Comté local wines, vin jaune, vin de paille
Personalities: Louis Pasteur (chemist), Hubert-Felix Thiéfaine (singer), Cyril Viennot (triathlete, 2015 world long distance champion)
Sport: 40 sports associations, 6,800 members. Clubs: US Dole Rugby, Cercle des Nageurs de Dole et de sa Région, Tennis Club Dolois, Retraite Sportive du Grand Dole (for seniors). Events: Tour du Jura (cycling), Land of Pasteur Marathon, Les 30 Clochers (mountain biking and hiking), Les Foulées du Chat perché
Economy: chemical industry (Solvay), biotechnology (Ynsect, transformation of insects into bioactive components), electronic components (C&K), food industry (Bel cheese factories), charcuterie (Clavière)
Festivals: Circus and brass bands festival, Pupitres en liberté (classical music)
Labels: Ville à Vélo du Tour de France (2 bikes), Ville Active & Sportive, Land of the Games and preparation centre for the 2024 Olympics, Sentez-Vous Sport, town of art and history, Child Friendly town, National award for the enhancing of heritage, 3 flowers.
Websites: www.doledujura.frwww.grand-dole.frwww.doletourisme.frwww.jura.frhttps://www.cdt-jura.fr / https://fr-fr.facebook.com/villededole/ / https://www.facebook.com/departementdujurahttps://www.facebook.com/juratourismhttps://twitter.com/villededole

© Ville de Dole
Dole © Getty/tichr
© Ville de Dole

DOLE, A STORY  

Born on the slopes of a fortress built in the 12th century by the Count of Burgundy to control a passageway over the Doubs, the town, perched on a small limestone ledge, developed during the 13th century along the ancient Roman road linking Chalon-sur-Saône to Besançon. The market hall and the parish church of Notre Dame, which have always occupied the present-day Place Nationale, have marked the heart of the town since the Middle Ages. At the foot of the town, activities linked to the river were established, notably mills and tanneries which operated until the beginning of the 20th century, making Dole an active centre of production and trade.  

Former capital of the County  

From the 15th century onwards, the town was home to the Parliament and the University. It became a brilliant capital of the County under Burgundian and then Hasbourg domination, and it never ceased to attract the covetousness of the kings of France. After the sacking of the town by the troops of French king Louis XI in 1479, Dole slowly recovered. The 16th century was a period of intense reconstruction, which saw the town adorned with facades inspired by Italy and with abundant polychrome stone decorations. The new collegiate church and its emblematic bell tower were the main works of the Dole Renaissance, while the Hôtel-Dieu was also built. Following the French conquest by Louis XIV's troops in 1678, which marked the relocation of the capital from Besançon, the ramparts were dismantled by Vauban: the urban space could now be extended and ventilated.

Cityscape of Dole - France © Getty/tichr

DOLE AND CYCLING  

The birthplace of Louis Pasteur has hosted the Tour de France three times. The last time it passed through, in 2017, the peloton set off in the direction of Les Rousses, where Frenchman Lilian Calmejane scored the greatest solo success of his career. In 1939, Luxembourg rider François Neuens won from a breakaway with Dutch rider Toon Van Schelden, whereas Maurice Archambaud won the time trial between Dôle and Dijon in the afternoon. In 1992, it was from Dole that a stage set off for Saint-Gervais-Mont-Blanc where victory went to Swiss rider Rolf Jaermann. That day, his compatriot Alex Zülle didn't take the start and France’s Charly Mottet was forced to retire due to liver problems. Jaermann, who won his only Tour stage that day, overtook Pedro Delgado and Stephen Roche in the finale. Pascal Lino kept his Yellow Jersey before losing it the next day to Miguel Indurain.  The town also hosted the finish of a Paris-Nice stage won by Eddy Planckaert in 1985. In 2012, the prologue of the Tour de l'Avenir took place in Dole and was won by Australian Jay McCarthy.

François Neuens © PRESSESPORTS
Lilian Calmejane vainqueur de l'étape 8, Dole - Station des Rousses, du Tour de France 2017 © A.S.O./Pauline Ballet

SIGHTS  

Pasteur House

Foundation: opened in 1923.
History: the fame of Louis Pasteur, French scientist, chemist and physicist, is strongly linked to the development of a vaccine against rabies, but his scientific work extends to a wide range of fields, from the study of crystals to the study of silkworm diseases and the fermentations of wine and beer. Using personal objects and documents, the house where he was born shows how Louis Pasteur became the world-famous scientist par excellence.
Current use: museum on two levels with eight exhibition rooms. Numerous models and videos present his family memories and his great discoveries. Part of the collection comes from a bequest by Louis Pasteur Vallery-Radot, Pasteur's grandson and last heir.
A special feature: Louis Pasteur himself came towards the end of his life to inaugurate a plaque on the façade reminding that this the place where he was born.
Listing: Historical Monument in 1923 / "Maison des Illustres" label in 2011. www.terredelouispasteur.fr

Museum of Fine Arts and Archaeology

Founded in 1821, the museum is housed in the Pavillon des officiers, an 18th century building of Franche-Comté architecture. Its collections bring together archaeology, ancient art and contemporary art. The museum is ranked among the 50 best museums in France by the Journal des Arts. It offers an overview of the history of the Dole region since prehistoric times, with 1500 m2 of exhibitions. www.musees-franchecomte.com/index.php?p=237   

Notre Dame de Dole Collegiate Church

Foundation: built in the 16th century.
Style: Gothic and Renaissance.
Characteristics: its furnishings and decorations, donated by the town's most prominent citizens, are the first works of the Dole Renaissance. The façade of the Sainte-Chapelle, the organ loft and the pulpit are adorned with marble polychromes filled with foliage, interlacing and bird motifs, typical of the productions of the Dole workshops. There is an exceptional large organ with 3,500 pipes built by German manufacturer Riepp, one of the very rare 18th century specimens in France.
History: built in the 16th century after being plundered under Louis XI, it symbolises the recovery of the city. Its powerful 73-metre high bell tower-porch evokes the intensity of the religious struggles of the time.
Current use: nowadays, it is still traditionally called a "collegiate church", despite its erection as a minor basilica in 1951.
Listing: Historical Monument in 1910.  

Hotel-Dieu

Foundation: construction began in 1613 and was interrupted for a long time by the sieges and wars that the town suffered three times between 1636 and 1674
Style: Renaissance (architect: Jean Boyvin).
Characteristics: the buildings are arranged in a U-shape, on three levels, around a courtyard lined with arcades, including the 18th and 19th century wings. An ambulatory with two large rooms. At the junction of the latter, a chapel that allowed patients to follow mass from their beds.
History: the purpose of the Hôtel-Dieu was to receive the sick, especially the poor who could not be treated at home. In 1663, some of the Hospitaller Sisters of Sainte-Marthe came from Beaune to found the first community. This hospital functioned for several centuries, until 1973, when it was transformed into a geriatric centre while the Louis-Pasteur Hospital Centre opened its doors.
Current use: rehabilitated between 1998 and 2000, it now houses the municipal archives, the library and the media library of the town.
Listing: listed as a historical monument in 1928.  

Fresco of the Dolois

Foundation: inaugurated in September 2017.
Artists: Camille Semelet, Alain Locatelli, Sylvie Casartelli and Anaïs Mazuez, muralist artists from the Haut les Murs collective.
Characteristics: mural fresco in trompe-l'œil which honours the women and men who have marked the history of Dole over the last ten centuries.
Personalities represented: Louis Pasteur (1822-1895), Marcel Aymé (1902-1967), Jean Boyvin (1580-1650), Jacques Duhamel (1924-1977).
Distinctions: The work was awarded the 2017 Pinceau d'argent (Silver Paintbrush).  

The Chat Perché circuit

The Chat Perché (a reference to the writer Marcel Aymé, author of the Contes du Chat Perché, who grew up in Dole) invites visitors to follow a signposted tour of the town centre. It has been designed for pedestrians eager to discover the riches of Dole's urban heritage. In 35 stages, you will discover eight centuries of Dole's history through the emblematic monuments, the main streets, the squares and the decorations that adorn the town centre. http://www.chatperche-dole.mobi.  

Chaux Forest and barracks of the 14

This deciduous forest is the second largest in France. Renowned for its rich fauna, it is full of paths and forest tracks suitable for walking or mountain biking. During the summer season, the barracks of 14, the former hamlet of the woodcutters and charcoal makers who used to live in the forest, host exhibitions, activities and evening events based on tales and legends. www.jura-tourisme.com

© Ville de Dole
© Ville de Dole
© Creative Commons 4.0/Chabe01
© Ville de Dole
© Creative Commons 4.0/Arnaud 25
© Ville de Dole
Dole in france, the church © Getty/LianeM

TO EAT  

Gourmet weekend at the Chat Perché  

A true ode to "eating well", this event is an opportunity to discover the good local products of Burgundy Franche-Comté and flavours from elsewhere. For two days, local producers, food artisans, starred chefs and artists of all kinds take over the city dear to Marcel Aymé to share their passion and know-how with visitors. In 2021, nearly 45,000 people discovered the local heritage and food...

© So Reportage

Follow us

Receive exclusive news about the Tour