In 1947, the Tour of the renewal was also the one including the first finish judged in Belgium with the victory of René Vietto in Brussels. After that long and victorious 130-km breakaway, the wins in the capital were mostly claimed by sprinters like Walter Planckaert (1978), Freddy Maertens (1981) or Alessandro Petacchi (2010). Brussels was also the theatre of a Bernard Hinault time-trial master piece when in 1979 the Frenchman was reconquering lost time on his main rival Joop Zoetemelk. In terms of statistics, with this 11th visit in 2019, Brussels rises to the height of Liège at the summit of most visited foreign cities of la Grande Boucle.

Follow us

Receive exclusive news about the Tour

Partners of Le Tour

By browsing this site, you accept the use of Cookies in order to offer to you an advertising tailored to your interests, and to perform traffic statistics.

To find out more