Lure > La Planche des Belles Filles
19/09/2020 - Etappe 20 - 36,2 km - Einzelzeitfahren
Population: 238 347
Surface: 5 360 km²
Region: Bourgogne Franche-Comté
Specialties: Cancoillotte and munster (cheese), wines of Charcenne and Champlitte, Biscuits of Montbozon, Luxeuil ham, Passavant la Rochère glassware and crystal, Kirsch AOC of Fougerolles.
Leading sport clubs: Tri Val de Gray (triathlon), Cercle Sportif Vésulien Haute-Saône (CSVHS-Handball), Handball Club Lure Villers (Handball), Groupe Triathlon Vesoul Haute-Saône (GTVHS-triathlon), Club Haltérophile Luxovien (weightlifting), ASA Luronne (motor-racing), Moto Club Haut-Saônois (MCHS-Moto)
Leading events: 3 Ballons Grand Fondo, European and national week of young cyclotourists, Tour Alsace, Future French road cycling championship, Slow Up Valley of the Ognon
Culture: Rolling Saône Festival in Gray, Musique et mémoire moving festival, Pluralies Festival in Luxeuil-les-Bains
Economy: tradition of metallurgy, high level industries in food, textile, wood, metallurgy, luxury products, equipment, automobile.
Websites and social networks: www.haute-saone.fr / www.facebook.com/departementhautesaone / www.destination70.com
Haute-Saône is located at the foot of the Vosges mountains, halfway between Alsace and Burgundy and close to Germany and Switzerland. Four soft modes allow you to discover this destination where nature remains unspoiled:By bike on forest tracks and country lanes: the Chemin Vert (Green way), which links the Véloroute V50 to the EuroVelo, or the 21 signposted cycle loops with varying levels of difficulty On horseback, nearly 500 kilometers of equestrian hiking trails stretch from the Southern Vosges to the Val de Saône. On foot, the four Grande Randonnée trails (GR 5, 7, 59 and 533) and the Via Francigena. Trekkers in search of meaning and spirituality gladly follow in the footsteps of pilgrims on the Santiago de Compostela and St Columbanus routes. On the water, the 130 kilometers of the Petite Saône: river navigation is facilitated by numerous facilities. The Saint-Albin tunnel and its 681-meter crossing are quite surprising.
Froideterre (Pop : 370)
Malbouhans airfield:The Malbouhans aerodrome is a disused military site that once served as a take-off runway for the 116 Luxeuil-Saint Sauveur Air Base. It is located on the territory of the municipalities of Malbouhans, La Neuvelle-lès-Lure, Saint-Germain, Froideterre, Roye and La Côte. The Haute-Saône General Council bought it back in 2005, but plans to put it back into service came up against ecological concerns (presence of protected species). One project (Aremis) consists of the conversion of existing structures into a small competitive cluster for vehicles of the future. The space of nearly 240 hectares is used several times a year for major events such as motor racing and plowing competitions.
Saint-Germain (Pop: 1,350)
The town is mainly known for the Grande Pile peat bog which is a reference for the climatic history of Western Europe. A peat bog is a swamp made up of peat, that is, a heap of decaying plant material. Particularly rich flora and fauna live in these marshes with a particular climate, very cold in winter and very hot in summer. For example, in Saint-Germain grow droseras, small carnivorous plants, and cranberries, shrubs that are usually only found in the polar regions and which are survivors of the glaciers that occupied the region millennia ago. Predatory insects, birds, frogs, snakes, butterflies and many others also live in the peat bogs of Haute-Saône.The "Water and Stone" circuit allows you to discover the peat bogs of Saint-Germain. 12 kilometers long, it also takes the Mille Etangs trail.
Plateau des Mille Etangs
Since Servance stretches out the Plateau des Mille Etangs (Thousand Ponds Plateau): a vast region, shaped by glaciers that disappeared 12,000 years ago, having dug a thousand and one basins in which ponds and peat bogs have nestled. From this mosaic of earth and water flow landscapes of forests of oaks, beeches and firs, meadows, ferns, heather and broom. Dotted here and there, large boulders bear witness to the legacy of the Ice Age. Men then joined forces with nature to shape these wild landscapes.
Mélisey (Pop: 1,680)
There is no doubt that Thibaut Pinot's fan club will be present en masse in the village of Mélisey, where he is from and of which his father has been the mayor since 2008 (reelected in the first round in 2020).
An imposing church set on a rocky peak dominates the village. The eastern part is said to have been built by the Templars. The medieval part of the church was listed as a historical monument in 1986. The Romanesque tower and the choir are the remains of a very old architecture (11th and 12th centuries). Tombs (Merovingian sarcophagi) carved into the rock have been uncovered under the Romanesque chapel. The two sandstone sarcophagi are trapezoidal in shape. They have a tank with a recess to house the head, called a cephalic compartment. The cubicle appears from the Merovingian era: it allows us to better date the history of Christianisation in the Southern Vosges and to locate the activity of the rural communities founded by the monks of Saint Columbanus.
Belonchamp (Pop: 200)
Belonchamp was part of the barony of Melisey dependent on the lords of Faucogney. The town must then have had a certain importance because it had two fortified castles whose clods can still be seen.
The town hall with its particular architecture has a sandstone door carved with three suns and laurels dating from 1823. The granite cross located in front of this building is dated 1349.
The Ognon and the ponds (notably the Rosbeck pond of 7 hectares) are very popular with fishermen. Picnic areas are set up on these sites.
Belonchamp is the starting point for many hikes organized by the Haute-Vallée de l'Ognon Tourist Office.
Raddon et Chappendu (Pop: 860)
According to tradition, a Roman camp may have been located in Raddon and Chapendu. However, no research has been able to confirm the existence of it.
The strange name of "Chapendu" is also the source of many legends: it might come from the fact that the monks of St Columbanus hung their capes on the trees during the work of clearing, hence the name "cape-tendues" (hanging capes). Unless this name is a deformation of "Sloping fields" or a contraction of "Cha Pen Du", an expression which in Celtic meant "beginning of the black forest" ... In the 19th century, many farms animated the town: mills oil, sandstone and lava quarries, stationery and weaving.
The village has a small architectural heritage made up of crosses, fountains, washhouses ... We can also still see some chalots near the farms: these small granaries are typical of the Saone Vosges.
Several erratic boulders are found in the communal forest. Their strange shapes have sparked many legends. According to one of them, St Valbert is said to have taken a meal on the “Pierre de la Miche”.
Located in the heart of the Mille Etangs, Raddon and Chapendu is a very pleasant setting for cycling, hiking or horse riding.
Fresse (Pop: 725)
The village is the starting point for many walks in the Saint-Antoine massif. There is the Sainte-Barbe fountain, famous for eye diseases and facial inflammation. The village is dotted with numerous oratories and calvaries, one of them listed as a historical monument. But the main attraction of the town is inside the church: the pulpit, a sculptural work of the 18th century, is in solid oak and its woodwork is remarkable.
During the first conquest of Franche-Comté by Louis XIV, in 1667, a detachment of French soldiers engaged from the bottom of Fresse. The ambushed residents slaughtered the vanguard of French troops. A squadron of cavalry called in as reinforcements met the same fate, only a rider escaped to bring the news to the king. The latter dispatched a large number of soldiers to "subdue" the rebels. Victorious, the French ravaged the village, set it on fire and blood and slaughtered the children. The French troops advanced again to give battle to the resistance which lasted in a field, which today is called "the field of the Horses". They then went up to Larmets to exterminate the last villagers. In spite of themselves, as in Faucogney and Corravillers, the inhabitants of Fresse became French.
Plancher-Bas (Pop: 2,910)
Plancher-Bas, a commune in the Ballons des Vosges Regional Nature Park, is crossed by the Rahin. Plancher was under the authority of the Abbot of Lure. The inhabitants were freed in 1552, but they still had to go "hunting" in the forests of the abbey for a piece of bread. The church dates from 1448, although the nave and bell tower were rebuilt in the 18th century. It houses many statues listed as historical monuments. In the town of Plancher-Bas, a trout fishing course has been set up.For a long time, Plancher-Bas was renowned for its paper mill and forestry operations. Today, the main resources of the town are metallurgy and hosiery.
Plancher-les-Mines (Pop: 2,550)
Plancher-les-Mines has long been part of the commune of Plancher-Bas. It was then called Plancher-Haut. It broke away from it in the 17th century. Its suffix comes from the silver mines that made the town famous: in 1619, they were considered to be the most productive in the Empire.
In the 18th century, two glassworks in turn made Plancher-les-Mines known: they were operated by German-speaking glassmakers who exploited the plots of the forest of Saint-Antoine with difficult access. At a place called Marbranche, a quarry for the extraction of raw materials is listed as a historical monument.
The neo-Gothic church of Plancher-Bas dates from the 19th century. An 18th century silver ciborium is kept in the sacristy.
In Plancher-les-Mines, the Fairground museum exhibits many models of traditional or more original rides, as well as postcards, posters, music boxes, and various works.
Erhalten sie exklusive informationen zur Tour de France