Stage town for the third time.

Sub-prefecture of Lot-et-Garonne. 

Population: 21,800 (Villeneuvois, Villeneuvoises)

Specialities: cèpe du Périgord (mushroom), tourtière (cake), chasselas of Moissac (grape), Agen prunes, white garlic from Lomagne.

Personalities: Georges Leygues (former Prime Minister), Paul Guth (writer), Mathieu Gallet (Chairman of Radio France), Chimène Badi, Bambou (singers), Freddy Hufnagel (basketball, 103 caps for France), Christophe Juillet (former rugby union international - 18 caps), Ousmane Dieng (basketball, NBA), Samir Ziani (English boxing), Mickaël Brageot (aerobatics).

Sport: Léopards d'Aquitaine (rugby league), Ping Pong club villeneuvois (D1), Villeneuve Basket Club (N3), RC Villeneuvois (rugby union). Sangruère racecourse. Route d'Occitanie. Economy: Villeneuve-sur-Lot's flagship business is Gifi (retail, 500 shops).

Festivals: Festival du rire, Festival Villeneuve se livre, Aérofestival (air show),

Labels: Land of art and history. 

Website: /


Villeneuve-sur-Lot has twice been visited by the Tour de France, in 1996 and 2000. In the latter year, it was Erik Dekker who raised his arms, and the least that can be said is that he deserved it, having already spent 427 km in breakaways since the start of the Tour. This victory proved to be a turning point, as this tireless attacker went on to win two more stages in this edition, in Revel and Lausanne. The Dutchman won a fourth stage in 2001. He would later add an Amstel Gold Race, a Paris-Tours, a Clasica San Sebastian and a Tirreno-Adiratico to his list of victories.  In 1996, victory went to veteran Italian Massimo Podenzana, 35, twice Italian champion, but taking part in only his second Tour de France. A local rider, Philippe Pautrat, took part in four Tours de France, finishing 8th on his first attempt in 1905.


  • Ancient site of Eysses (Excisum)

Built: 1st century BC.

Style: Roman vicus.

History: the Roman city of Excisum was built between the reigns of Tiberius and Hadrian at the junction of two roads, one linking Agen to Périgueux and the other running from Cahors to Bordeaux. For a time, the discovery of military artefacts lent credence to the idea that there might have been a military camp, but this has never been proven. The city must have covered an area of 50 hectares. It gradually declined from the 3rd century onwards, probably as a result of the first Germanic invasions.

Characteristics: the site forms a built-up area with a monumental complex at its centre, a remnant of which can be seen in the form of a circular tower forming a wall 1.1-m thick, with an internal diameter of around 11 m and a height of around 10 m. Excavations have revealed the apse of a curia. In front of this building, where the magistrates responsible for the administration of the vicus gathered, galleries of shops were built around a courtyard at the centre of which was a temple dedicated to Mars. In front was the forum. This complex is one of the ten largest sanctuaries in Roman Gaul.

Listed as: Historical Monument since 1926, then 1997  

  • Sainte-Catherine Church

Construction: 1898 to 1934

Style: Romanesque-Byzantine.

History and characteristics:: in the mid-19th century, Abbot Grenouilheau wanted to rebuild the church, which dated back to the 13th and 15th centuries, but his neo-Gothic project came to nothing. Georges Leygues, Lot MP and future President of the French Council, asked architect Édouard Corroyer to draw up plans for a church in the Romanesque-Byzantine style, which Leygues financed. The First World War disrupted construction, which was not completed until 1924, under the direction of architect Gaston Rapin. The brick church, remarkable for its tower inspired by that of Saint-Sernin in Toulouse, was consecrated in 1937.

Listed as: Historical Monument since 2022. 20th century heritage.  

  • Pujols and Paris Towers

Construction: 13th century.

Style: medieval.

Characteristics: Founded in 1264, the town retains two gates from its former walls, topped by high square towers with machicolation and four-sloped roofs. These gates, which must have been defended by advanced works, form a vaulted passageway above which rise two storeys crowned by a parapet walk. Each floor has a room lit from the town side by a geminated bay. A wooden staircase led from the first to the second floor, which was used as a lookout. Today, the second floor is used as a chamber for the town's clock, the striking of which is suspended in a 19th-century bell tower.

Listed as: Historical Monument since 1901.  

  • Cieutats bridge

Construction: 13th century.

History: in 1279, the Treaty of Amiens brought the Agen region under the English crown. The seneschal representing King Edward I accepted the residents' request to build a bridge. Construction began in 1282 under the direction of English engineers. The bridge had 5 arches topped by 3 towers. Following a flood in 1600, it was decided to replace the two northern arches with a single large arch 35.30-m wide. The restored bridge was inaugurated in 1643. It was widened in 1876, after the parapets had been removed.

Characteristics: Pont des Cieutats, or Pont-Vieux, is one of three bridges over the River Lot in Villeneuve-sur-Lot. It is an arch bridge comprising two small arches and one large arch with a span of 36 metres.

Trivia: the name of the bridge comes from the mayor, Nicolas de Cieutat, baron of Pujols and Tombebouc, and his son, Arnaud, who defended Villeneuve-sur-Lot in 1585 against Queen Margot, who had sided with the League and come to conquer the town.

Listed as: Historical Monument in 1926, then 1997  

  • Gajac Museum

Opening: 1999

History: situated on the banks of the River Lot in the centre of town, the Gajac Museum was originally a water mill. The "Moulin de Gajac", founded by the Benedictine monks of Eysses, is mentioned in the foundation act of the bastide dating back to 1264. In 1860, a Bordeaux merchant, Jean-Osmin Jaubert, transformed it into a flour mill. In 1896, the Renoux company once again changed the function of this medieval mill, installing turbines to generate electricity. In 1946, the mill became the local EDF headquarters. The town acquired it in 1981 and converted it into a museum.

Characteristics: the museum, which has incorporated the collections of the Gaston Rapin Museum since 1996, comprises a contemporary wing divided into two separate areas: one devoted to part of the permanent collections, featuring paintings and sculptures from the 17th to 20th centuries, and the other reserved for temporary exhibitions.  

  • Georges-Leygues Theatre

Built: 1931-35

Style: Art Deco.

History: Theatre built between 1931 and 1935 by architect Guillaume Tronchet. The treatment of the front facade is in the Art Deco style, with the neo-classicism of a Corinthian colonnade on the forecourt. The layout of this front elevation, comprising a forecourt and two wings, corresponds to the tripartite layout of the interiors, with an Italian-style auditorium framed by galleries and service rooms.

Listed as: Historical Monument since 2008.  

  • Château de Rogé

In the 13th and 14th centuries, seigneurial residences were built as close as possible to the River Lot, probably to serve as toll houses. The fortified house at Rogé dates back to the 15th century. It was extended in the 16th and 17th centuries, in an architectural style that reflects the Mannerist movement of the period. The site was acquired by the municipality of Villeneuve-sur-Lot in 1962.


  • Local producers' market

In summer, Villeneuve-sur-Lot's evening gourmet events take advantage of the shady setting of the Place de l'Amiral Courbet. From one stand to the next, you can put together your own gourmet plate. A host of local producers will be on hand to offer their meats, fruit and vegetables, a variety of desserts, wines and beers... All in a festive atmosphere, with live music every time.


Recibe información exclusiva del Tour de France