2019 Edition

Stages won 3
Overall ranking 7
Competitors in race 6
Sporting managers : VERHOEVEN Nico / MAASSEN Frans


Sponsored for a long time by Rabobank, the only Dutch team on the scene now represents the Dutch national lottery, much like Belgium's Lotto–Soudal. In 1996, taking the reins from the previous sponsors of the teams formed by Jan Raas, such as Kwantum-Hallen (from 1984, the penultimate season as a rider for the five-time winner of the Amstel Gold Race), Superconfex (from 1987), Buckler (1990), WordPerfect (1993) and Novell (1995), the bank and its orange jerseys hinting towards its national origins signed up for a long journey with the Tour de France before the Dutch financiers threw in the towel at the end of 2012. Belkin, an American manufacturer specialising in Internet connection devices and networks, stepped up to the plate and enabled the team to survive in a country crazy about cycling and fiercely loyal to the Tour de France.

For a long time, the team focused on stage wins with classics specialists, mainly from the Netherlands, before boosting its ambitions with the addition of foreign sprinters, climbers and power riders such as Robbie McEwen, Óscar Freire, Michael Rasmussen, Denis Menchov, Juan Manuel Gárate and Luis León Sánchez with mixed success, before rediscovering its knack for nurturing the rising stars of Dutch cycling. The team failed to tap the full potential of Bauke Mollema, Moreno Hofland and Wilco Kelderman, who left for other teams, just like Lars Boom, who had an apotheotic day on the cobblestone stage to Arenberg in 2014 before returning to the fold. Despite finishing sixth in 2015, right behind the "Big Four" (Froome, Quintana, Nibali and Contador) and Alejandro Valverde, Robert Gesink failed to realise the Tour de France potential he once seemed to have. Meanwhile, Steven Kruijswijk, who came tantalisingly close to victory in the 2016 Giro, and Primož Roglič have developed into serious contenders and finished fifth and fourth last year. Kruijswijk put Team Sky on the back foot on the road to the Alpe d'Huez with a daring move on the Col de la Croix de Fer, while Roglič, who had become the first ever Slovenian rider to win a stage in 2017 after crowning the Galibier in first place, claimed another one in 2018 with an attack on the Aubisque. Jumbo–Visma will also be fielding one of the best sprinters in the world, Dylan Groenewegen, the star of the generation of fast men born in 1993 and 1994 (Fernando Gaviria, Pascal Ackermann and Caleb Ewan), who took the Champs-Élysées stage in 2017 and tasted victory in the cathedral cities of Chartres and Amiens in 2018.

  • Final victory0
  • Stages victories53
  • Yellows Jerseys17
  • Other races Won6

Stage wins: 53

  • 1984: Jan Raas in Bordeaux
  • 1985: Gerrit Solleveld in Pont-Audemer, Henri Manders in Roubaix and Maarten Ducrot in Épinal
  • 1986: Ludo Peeters in Saint-Hilaire-du-Harcouët
  • 1987: Jelle Nijdam in Berlin (prologue), Nico Verhoeven in Berlin, Jean-Paul van Poppel in Épinay-sous-Sénart and Avignon and Rolf Gölz in Blagnac
  • 1988: Jean-Paul van Poppel in Le Mans, Besançon, Bordeaux and Paris, Jelle Nijdam in Liévin and Rolf Gölz in Nancy
  • 1989: Jelle Nijdam in Wasquehal and Gap
  • 1990: Frans Maassen in Futuroscope, Gerrit Solleveld in Rouen and Jelle Nijdam in Épinal
  • 1991: Jelle Nijdam in Valenciennes
  • 1995: Djamolidine Abdoujaparov in Paris
  • 1996: Michael Boogerd in Aix-les-Bains and Rolf Sørensen in Super-Besse
  • 1998: Léon van Bon in Pau
  • 1999: Robbie McEwen in Paris
  • 2000: Léon van Bon in Tours and Erik Dekker in Villeneuve-sur-Lot, Revel and Lausanne
  • 2001: Marc Wauters in Antwerp and Erik Dekker in Pontarlier
  • 2002: Karsten Kroon in Plouay and Michael Boogerd in La Plagne
  • 2005: Peter Weening in Gérardmer and Michael Rasmussen in Mulhouse
  • 2006: Óscar Freire in Caen and Dax, Denis Menchov on Pla de Beret and Michael Rasmussen on La Toussuire
  • 2007: Michael Rasmussen in Tignes and on the Aubisque
  • 2008: Óscar Freire in Digne-les-Bains
  • 2009: Juan Manuel Gárate on Mont Ventoux
  • 2011: Luis León Sánchez in Saint-Flour
  • 2012: Luis León Sánchez in Foix
  • 2014: Lars Boom in Arenberg
  • 2017: Primož Roglič in Serre-Chevalier and Dylan Groenewegen in Paris
  • 2018: Dylan Groenewegen in Chartres and Amiens Métropole and Primož Roglič in Laruns

Secondary classification wins: 6

  • 1985: Maarten Ducrot (most combative rider)
  • 1987: Jean-Paul van Poppel (green jersey)
  • 2000: Erik Dekker (most combative rider)
  • 2005: Michael Rasmussen (polka-dot jersey)
  • 2006: Michael Rasmussen (polka-dot jersey)
  • 2008: Óscar Freire (green jersey)

Yellow jerseys: 17

  • 1984: Ludo Peeters, one day, Jacques Hanegraaf, two days and Adri van der Poel, one day
  • 1987: Jelle Nijdam, one day
  • 1988: Jelle Nijdam, two days
  • 2001: Marc Wauters, one day
  • 2007: Michael Rasmussen, nine days (before withdrawing from the race at the request of his team for suspected doping)


24 : the stage victories of Rabobank in seventeen Tour de France starts in the colours of the Dutch bank —about half of the victories claimed since the creation of Jan Raas' first team.


5 July 1996: Michael Boogerd, the darling of Dutch cycling, braves the torrential rain to take Rabobank's first Tour de France stage win in Aix-les-Bains.

19 July 2000: Erik Dekker grabs an epic hat-trick with his win in Lausanne.

27 July 2008: Óscar Freire takes the green jersey after winning three stages for Rabobank during his career.

Follow us

Receive exclusive news about the Tour