2024 Edition

Stage won 1
General Ranking 20
Competitors in race 7
Sporting managers : AERTS Mario / WAUTERS Marc

The history

  The first Lotto team, managed by Walter Godefroot and his deputy Patrick Lefevere, saw the light of day in 1985 with the Lotto–Soudal team's long-time manager, Marc Sergeant, among its fifteen riders. Both in 1986 and in 1987, when Sergeant took the first Tour de France stage for the Belgian national lottery, the team had to adopt the moniker "Joker" in July to avoid confusion with France's Loto. After a two-summer break (1988 and 1989), Jean-Luc Vandenbroucke's revamped Lotto team made a strong comeback to the Grande Boucle in which Johan Museeuw nabbed prestigious wins at Mont-Saint-Michel and on the Champs-Élysées. The "Lion of Flanders" had roared for the first time. In the 2000s, the team's national rivalry with Patrick Lefevere's Quick Step led Lotto to tap Australian cycling with mixed success. While Robbie McEwen won no fewer than three green jerseys, Lotto twice missed the opportunity to bring the yellow jersey all the way to Paris, with Cadel Evans finishing second in 2007 and 2008, only to win in 2011… after joining BMC. Finally, Jurgen Van den Broeck made the headlines in Belgium with a top 5 finish in 2010. After crashing in 2011, in 2012 he posted the best performance by a Belgian since Claudy Criquiélion finished fifth in 1986. Belgian champion Philippe Gilbert's win in the Mont des Alouettes stage in 2011 was no mean feat either. In 2014, Frenchman Tony Gallopin made a splash for Lotto–Belisol by wearing the yellow jersey on 14 July and claiming the stage to Oyonnax. Lotto–Soudal's best performance in 2018 was André Greipel's third place in Sarzeau. The team finished the race with just three riders, a meltdown of such magnitude that management decided to replace the Gorilla of Rostock with Caleb Ewan, an Aussie who exceeded all expectations. After becoming the youngest rider to win a stage in each Grand Tour since Nino Defilippis in 1956 with a triumph in Toulouse, he ended his first Grande Boucle as the most prolific sprinter in the race after grabbing another two wins in Nîmes and Paris. The 2019 Tour de France was a massive success for Lotto–Soudal, and not just because it started in Belgium. It also lit up the fireworks with its dogged attackers Thomas de Gendt, author of an epic performance that saw him raise his arms in Saint-Étienne, and Tim Wellens, who wore the polka-dot jersey for longer than Julian Alaphilippe stayed in yellow (15 days). In 2020, Caleb Ewan confirmed his status as one of the fastest sprinters in the world with two stage wins, but the following season, he fractured his collarbone in a crash in Pontivy on the third day of racing. Fellow Aussie Harry Sweeny posted the team's best result with third place in Nîmes. The grizzled Belgian squad only managed to finish on the podium of a stage once in 2022, with fourth place in Lausanne, courtesy of the Dane Andreas Kron, as its top performance after a fall in the cobblestone stage hamstrung Caleb Ewan. In 2023, Lotto–Dstny came up one place short of victory on three separate occasions: Caleb Ewan in Nogaro, Maxim Van Gils on the Grand Colombier and Pascal Eenkhorn in Bourg-en-Bresse. The Walloon Arnaud De Lie is also set to make his big debut in the Tour.

  • Final victory0
  • Stages victories40
  • Yellows Jerseys8
  • Other race Won0

Overall wins: 0

Podium finishes: 2

  • 2007: Cadel Evans, second
  • 2008: Cadel Evans, second

Stage wins: 40

  • 1987: Marc Sergeant in Strasbourg
  • 1990: Johan Museeuw in Mont-Saint-Michel and Paris
  • 1992: Jan Nevens in Koblenz and Peter De Clercq in Nanterre
  • 2001: Rik Verbrugghe in Lavaur and Serge Baguet in Montluçon
  • 2002: Robbie McEwen in Reims and Paris
  • 2004: Robbie McEwen in Namur and Guéret
  • 2005: Robbie McEwen in Montargis, Karlsruhe and Montpellier
  • 2006: Robbie McEwen in Esch-sur-Alzette, Saint-Quentin and Vitré
  • 2007: Robbie McEwen in Canterbury and Cadel Evans in Albi
  • 2011: Philippe Gilbert on Mont des Alouettes, André Greipel in Carmaux and Jelle Vanendert on Plateau de Beille
  • 2012: André Greipel in Rouen, Saint-Quentin and Le Cap d'Agde
  • 2013: André Greipel in Montpellier
  • 2014: André Greipel in Reims and Tony Gallopin in Oyonnax
  • 2015: André Greipel in Neeltje-Jans (Zeeland), Amiens Métropole, Valence and Paris
  • 2016: Thomas De Gendt on the Mont Ventoux (Chalet Reynard) and André Greipel in Paris
  • 2019: Thomas De Gendt in Saint-Étienne and Caleb Ewan in Toulouse, Nîmes and Paris
  • 2020: Caleb Ewan in Sisteron and Poitiers

Secondary classification wins: 5

  • 1999: Jacky Durand (most combative rider)
  • 2002: Robbie McEwen (points classification)
  • 2004: Robbie McEwen (points classification)
  • 2006: Robbie McEwen (points classification)
  • 2023: Victor Campenaerts (most combative rider)

Yellow jerseys: 8

  • 2004: Robbie McEwen, one day
  • 2008: Cadel Evans, five days
  • 2011: Philippe Gilbert, one day
  • 2014: Tony Gallopin, one day

STARTS: 37 (since 1985)

A FIGURE 37: the number of Tour de France starts by a team sponsored by the Belgian national lottery (since 1985).


  • 5 July 1987: Back on French soil after the Grand Départ in Berlin, Marc Sergeant grabs Lotto's first Tour de France stage win in Strasbourg.
  • 2 July 2011: Belgian champion Philippe Gilbert triumphs at the top of the Mont des Alouettes (Vendée) and pulls on the yellow jersey that epitomises his stellar season.
  • 28 July 2019: Caleb Ewan becomes the fourth Lotto rider to taste glory on the Champs-Élysées, following in the footsteps of Johan Museeuw, Robbie McEwen and André Greipel, who remains the only rider to have claimed four stages for the Belgian team in the same Tour de France (2015).

Follow us

Receive exclusive news about the Tour