06/26 > 07/18/2021

2020 Edition

Stages won 3
General Ranking 18
Competitors in race 8
Sporting managers : STEELS Tom / PEETERS Wilfried


This story started with the new millennium, when Patrick Lefevere left Mapei in late 2000 to set up his own team, originally called Domo and, from 2003 onwards, Quick-Step, with several co-sponsors. The Czech billionaire Zdeněk Bakala is the current owner and principal shareholder of the team.

Because it focuses on the classics, especially the Flemish ones, the Belgian squad has never been built to challenge for the Tour de France general classification, where its best result was Michał Kwiatkowski's eleventh place in 2013 until Dan Martin raised the bar by finishing ninth in 2016 and sixth in 2017, followed by Julian Alaphilippe's breakthrough performance in fifth place in 2019. This has never stopped it from making the headlines in July, especially with popular French riders. Lefevere did not regret giving Richard Virenque a second chance after his ban in 2001, as the rider from the Var department managed to stay ahead of the big guns on the climb up the Mont Ventoux in 2002 and, eleven years after his first attempt, pulled on the yellow jersey in Morzine during the centennial Tour. In 2004, still riding for Quick Step, he claimed his seventh and last polka-dot jersey in Paris. Later French recruits were also a success for the Flemish outfit, as Cédric Vasseur and Sylvain Chavanel both won Tour stages.

The team has found a worthy heir in Julian Alaphilippe. The winner of the 2018 and 2019 Flèche Wallonne and the 2019 Milan–San Remo went on to take the first Alpine stage, the first Pyrenean stage and the mountains classification in the 2018 Tour after the Belgian team got off to a sensational start with two sprint victories by Fernando Gaviria, who followed in the footsteps of Víctor Hugo Peña in 2003 to become the second Colombian to wear the yellow jersey. In 2019, Elia Viviani claimed the stage to Nancy and extended the Italian success story in Lorraine, but it was Julian Alaphilippe who hogged all the attention. A win in Champagne and the first French victory in an individual time trial in the Tour de France since Jean-François Bernard on the Mont Ventoux in 1987 put him in the pole position to win the overall, a far cry from his initial objectives, but he ended up faltering in the Alps.

  • Final victory0
  • Stages victories39
  • Yellows Jerseys25
  • Other races Won7

Stage wins: 39

  • 2003: Richard Virenque in Morzine and Servais Knaven in Bordeaux
  • 2004: Tom Boonen in Angers and Paris, Richard Virenque in Saint-Flour and Juan Miguel Mercado in Lons-le-Saunier
  • 2005: Tom Boonen in Les Essarts and Tours
  • 2006: Matteo Tosatto in Mâcon
  • 2007: Gert Steegmans in Ghent, Tom Boonen in Bourg-en-Bresse and Castres and Cédric Vasseur in Marseille
  • 2008: Gert Steegmans in Paris
  • 2010: Sylvain Chavanel in Spa and Les Rousses
  • 2013: Mark Cavendish in Marseille and Saint-Amand-Montrond, Tony Martin in Mont-Saint-Michel and Matteo Trentin in Lyon
  • 2014: Matteo Trentin in Nancy and Tony Martin in Mulhouse and Périgueux
  • 2015: Tony Martin in Cambrai, Zdeněk Štybar in Le Havre and Mark Cavendish in Fougères
  • 2016: Marcel Kittel in Limoges
  • 2017: Marcel Kittel in Liège, Troyes, Nuits-Saint-Georges, Bergerac and Pau
  • 2018: Fernando Gaviria in Fontenay-le-Comte and Sarzeau and Julian Alaphilippe in Le Grand-Bornand and Bagnères-de-Luchon
  • 2019: Julian Alaphilippe in Épernay and Pau and Elia Viviani in Nancy

Secondary classification wins: 7

  • 2003: Richard Virenque (mountains classification)
  • 2004: Richard Virenque (mountains classification and most combative rider)
  • 2007: Tom Boonen (points classification)
  • 2010: Sylvain Chavanel (most combative rider)
  • 2018: Julian Alaphilippe (mountains classification)
  • 2019: Julian Alaphilippe (most combative rider)

Yellow jerseys: 25

  • 2003: Richard Virenque, one day
  • 2006: Tom Boonen, four days
  • 2010: Sylvain Chavanel, two days
  • 2015: Tony Martin, three days
  • 2018: Fernando Gaviria, one day
  • 2019: Julian Alaphilippe, fourteen days


the number of days spent in yellow by Julian Alaphilippe in 2019, longer than any other French rider since Bernard Hinault in the 1985 Tour de France.


12 July 2003: during the centennial Tour, Richard Virenque pulls on a bizarre jersey in Morzine, half yellow and half polka-dots, after taking both jerseys as well as the stage win.

5 July 2006: Tom Boonen, a world champion at the height of his fame, rides through Belgium in yellow (from Huy to Saint-Quentin) after taking the lead in Valkenburg.

7 July 2018: Quick-Step Floors gives Colombia its second rider in the yellow jersey after propelling Fernando Gaviria to the stage win in Fontenay-le-Comte.

Follow us

Receive exclusive news about the Tour