08/29 > 09/20/2020

Caleb Ewan on the hunt for the first yellow jersey

The last time the Tour de France visited Nice was in 2013 for a team time trial won by Orica-GreenEdge. That day, the Promenade des Anglais became the “Promenade des Australiens” with Simon Gerrans taking the yellow jersey. Only two Australians start the 2020 Tour de France but the story might well be repeated as Caleb Ewan is the hot favourite for a bunch sprint finish at the end of a 5km long straight line. The peloton will cross the finish line two times before with the category 3 côte de Rimiez to be climbed twice. Besides Ewan, the top sprinters in contention are Irish champion Sam Bennett (Deceuninck-Quick Step), European champion Giacomo Nizzolo (NTT Pro Cycling), former triple world champion Peter Sagan (Bora-Hansgrohe), André Greipel (Israel-Start-Up Nation) Matteo Trentin (CCC Team), Alexander Kristoff (UAE Team Emirates), Elia Viviani (Cofidis), Sonny Colbrelli (Bahrain-McLaren), Wout van Aert (Jumbo-Visma), Bryan Coquard (B&B-Vital Concept), Niccolo Bonifazio (Total Direct Energie) and Clément Venturini (AG2R-La Mondiale).

Follow us

Receive exclusive news about the Tour

Vainqueurs Etapes TDF 2020 - UK