The historic capital of the Duchy of Burgundy first appeared on the Tour de France map in 1906, hosting the finish of a stage that had begun 416 kilometres earlier in Nancy and was won by René Pottier. Régis Clère was the most remarkable of those who’ve celebrated victory in the home of mustard. Back in 1987, he’d been allowed back into the race a few days earlier after finishing outside the time limit and went on to win twice, including his success in Dijon, which was almost home ground for him. That double resulted in him being awarded that year’s prize as the most aggressive rider.

  • Stage town for the 18th time
  • Prefecture of the department of Côte-d’Or (21)
  • Population: 159,500 (Dijonnais), 536,000 in Côte-d’Or



Follow us

Receive exclusive news about the Tour