UNVEILING OF THE ROUTES FOR 2023

The unveiling of the routes for the 2023 Tour de France and Tour de France Femmes avec Zwift will take place on Thursday 27th October from 11.30 (UTC+2) at the Palais des Congrès convention centre in Paris.

LACAPELLE-MARIVAL

First time stage city
Capital of the Lot canton (46)

Population: 1,315 (Marivalois and Marivaloises), 45,260 in the 92 communes of the Communauté de communes du Grand-Figeac, 174,000 in the Lot.
Personalities: de Cardaillac family.
Specialities: farm lamb from Quercy (IGP designation, protected geographical indication), Quercy truffle, Quercy walnuts, pescajoune (pancake filled with fruit), golden greengage, walnut liqueur, Bois Bordet spring water
Sport: Stade Marivalois (rugby, Fédérale 3), Ẻlan Marivalois (football, Midi-Pyrénées league promotion championship), Motoclub Lacapelle-Marival, Racing Club Marivalois 46 (radio-controlled car club). Equipment: motocross circuit. Events: MXGP stage, the motocross world championship, motocross Masters
Economy: tourism, agriculture, services, shops
Festivals: Pig Fair, sculpture and painting exhibitions in the castle.
Labels: Land of Art and History / Industry Territory/ Grand Site d’Occitanie / Causses du Quercy Regional Nature Park / Grand-Figeac is home to four sites listed by UNESCO as world heritage sites on the pilgrimage routes to Santiago de Compostela in France.
Websites / Social networks: https://www.lacapelle-marival.fr / https://www.tourisme-figeac.comhttps://www.grand-figeac.fr/www.lot.frwww.tourisme-lot.comhttps://www.facebook.com/Commune-de-Lacapelle-Marival-100564865029685/https://fr-fr.facebook.com/lot.departement/https://www.facebook.com/ohmylothttps://www.facebook.com/GrandFigeachttps://www.facebook.com/ohmylothttps://www.linkedin.com/company/departement-du-lot/ / https://www.instagram.com/pays_de_figeac_tourisme / https://www.facebook.com/destinationvalleeslotdordognehttps://www.instagram.com/destinationvalleeslotdordogne

© Jérôme Morel
© Lot Tourisme/C. Novello
© Jérôme Morel

LACAPELLE-MARIVAL, A STORY

Meeting of three terroirs

The Quercy town of Lacapelle-Marival has played the role of a small capital of its territory since the Middle Ages.
Lacapelle-Marival is situated at the meeting point of three very different natural terroirs. To the west are the Causses du Quercy, karstic plateaus whose vast rocky expanses are ideal for sheep farming. This territory provided the wealth of its flocks of sheep, whose numbers were sometimes impressive. To the west are the wooded and fertile Ségala mountains, suitable for cattle breeding and, traditionally, for chestnut cultivation. Between these two very different environments, Lacapelle-Marival was established in the Limargue region, with its rich agricultural land favourable to cereal crops, walnut orchards and vines.
Since its foundation in the Middle Ages on the busy road linking Figeac to the sanctuary of Rocamadour, Lacapelle-Marival has developed thanks to the complementary nature of its agricultural land, which made the inhabitants prosper.
A prestigious family of lords played an important role in this history. The Cardaillac family, from a nearby village (Cardaillac, a picturesque village established in an ancient fortress clinging to the slopes of the Segala), had a strong influence on the region for centuries and were influential lords of Quercy from the Middle Ages to the century of Louis XIV. Most of the castles in the region were linked in the course of their history to the Cardaillac family, which was strongly established in Lacapelle-Marival.

© Agence Vent d'Autan/Christophe Bouthé

LACAPELLE-MARIVAL AND CYCLING

Lacapelle-Marival and its 1,270 inhabitants have not yet hosted the Tour de France, but the commune is part of the community of communes of Grand Figeac, whose main town has hosted the Grande Boucle on three occasions. The only finish in Figeac, in the 2004 Tour, saw the victory of local rider David Moncoutié at the end of a long breakaway. Now a consultant on Eurosport alongside Jacky Durand, Moncoutié has lived for a long time in Bretrenoux-Biars, another village in the Figeac area.
In 1978, a stage that started in Figeac ended in Super-Besse with the victory of Belgian Paul Wellens. In 2008, the finish was in Toulouse, where Mark Cavendish won the second of his 34 Tour de France stage victories.

David Moncoutié vainqueur d'étape à Figeac lors du Tour de France 2004 © Pressesports/Bernard Papon
Mark Cavendish vainqueur d'étape Figeac - Toulouse du Tour de France 2008 © Pressesports/Jean-Christian Biville

TO SEE

Castle of Lacapelle-Marival
Foundation: 13th and 16th century
Style: Medieval and Renaissance
Characteristics: the massive square keep, with machicolations and flanked by watchtowers at each of its corners, dates back to the 13th century, while the main building, flanked by large round towers, was added in the 15th century.
History: the castle of Lacapelle-Marival was built at the end of the 13th century by Géraud I de Cardaillac. Around 1270, he settled in one of the many rural parishes that made up the Cardaillac seigneury, a rich land at the crossroads of busy roads, which gave rise to the present-day small town of Lacapelle-Marival.
Special features: the council chamber, renovated in early 2000, houses an impressive collection of paintings of all the presidents of the French Republic since the Second Republic as well as representations of many former mayors of Lacapelle-Marival.
Classification: Historical monument since 1939

Church of the Assumption of the Holy Virgin
Founded: 1575, redesigned in 1875
Style: neo-gothic
History: built in 1575 on the site of a 12th century Romanesque chapel.
Special features: a painting by Jacques Gamelin (18th century) representing the Assumption of the Virgin and a painting by Doctor Henri Cadiergues representing stretcher bearers during the First World War. Impressive stained-glass windows.

GR6 - On the Way to Santiago de Compostela
One of the branches of the pilgrimage routes to Santiago de Compostela coming from Le Puy-en-Velay passes through Lacapelle. This itinerary is also a long-distance hiking trail: the GR6, from Sainte-Foy-la-Grande (Gironde) to Saint-Paul-sur-Ubaye (Alpes-de-Haute-Provence)

Fortified church of Saint-Martial de Rudelle
The seigniorial bastide being sufficiently populated, the customs of Figeac were granted to the inhabitants in 1320 by Bertrand de Cardaillac. This is the first mention of the fortified church or "fort-church" of Saint Martial, which is still visible today. This fortress is the only defensive structure in the bastide. The preconceived rational layout of the town, as attested by the charters, is still visible. The church, the square and the market hall (which disappeared in 1964) are positioned along the main road.

© Lot Tourisme/C.Novello
© Lot Tourisme/C. Novello
facade del Obradoiro empty of people at a summer day © Getty/JoseIgnacioSoto
© Jérôme Morel

TO EAT

Farm Lamb of Quercy has been protected by an IGP since 1996. It is a renowned product, reared in this area according to a traditional method. It is fed on milk for a minimum of 70 days, supplemented with hay and cereals for a maximum of 150 days.

prime lambs on green grass © Getty/PPAMPicture

Follow us

Receive exclusive news about the Tour