Following the Tour’s first visit in 1930, Pau became a base camp for the race, the city featuring either before or after the riders had tackled the Pyrenees. Its location lends itself to all kinds of stage profiles, as is underlined by the list of winners in the city, which includes climbers like René Vietto and Fausto Coppi, baroudeurs (breakaway specialists) like Pierrick Fédrigo, and sprinters such as Sean Kelly, Robbie McEwen and Arnaud Démare. In 2019, the centenary of the Yellow Jersey’s first appearance was celebrated in the capital of the Béarn, an event that was honoured in masterly fashion by Julian Alaphilippe.  

  • Stage town for the 75th time
  • Prefecture of the department of Pyrénées-Atlantiques (64)
  • Population: 75,700 (Palois), 162,000 within the 31 communes comprising the Pau Béarn Pyrénées municipality

Follow us

Receive exclusive news about the Tour