The 31st Tour stage to Alpe d’Huez will take place 70 years after the introduction of summit finishes, which began with Fausto Coppi’s demonstration on the road with 21 hairpins. The string of successes taken by the likes of Zoetemelk, Kuiper and Winnen later earned it the nickname “the Dutch mountain”, before the Italians took over with Bugno and Pantani. As regards French riders, Bernard Hinault was the first to win here in 1986, although the photo at the finish that day underlines that he was passing the torch to the American Greg LeMond that day. Subsequently, Pierre Rolland in 2011, Christophe Riblon in 2013 and Thibaut Pinot in 2015 have also delivered victory for the home nation at Alpe d’Huez.

  • Stage town for the 31st time
  • Mountain tourist resort in Isère (38) within the commune of Huez
  • Population: 1,400 (Huizats and Huizates), 10,700 in the 19 communes comprising the Oisans municipality

Follow us

Receive exclusive news about the Tour