Presented by NTT DATA

50,9: When it goes up, Girmay speeds up

Déjà vainqueur d’étapes sur le Giro et La Vuelta, Remco Evenepoel s’impose également dès son premier Tour de France pour devenir le 109e coureur à gagner sur les trois Grands Tours. Sa première épreuve de trois semaines, le Giro 2021, est la seule sur laquelle il n’a pas goûté à la victoire (non-partant pour la 18e étape). La moitié de ses succès (4/8) sont venus dans des contre-la-montre individuels.

Girmay doubles up - Tour de France 2024

2: Girmay repeats success and ends streaks

With a second victory in the Tour 2024, Biniam Girmay ends a streak that saw seven different riders win the seven first stages of the Tour de France 2024. His previous success came in Turin, on day 3. Romain Bardet, Kévin Vauquelin, Tadej Pogacar, Mark Cavendish, Dylan Groenewegen and Remco Evenepoel are the other winners this year. The Eritrean star also ends a run of six sprints that were dominated by six different winners (starting with Mads Pedersen last year in Limoges, all the way to Dylan Groenewegen in Dijon).

27: It’s a tie between Vingegaard and Pogacar

Tadej Pogacar is up to 27 Maillot Jaune since he stormed the Tour de France in 2020… And Jonas Vingegaard collected the exact same amount of jerseys in the last two editions, which saw him match Pogacar’s two overall victories. The two of them can now eye Fabian Cancellara’s record of 29 Maillot Jaune. Eddy Merckx remains far ahead with an all-time record of 111 Maillot Jaune (including half stages).

38%: Abrahamsen is tireless

After 8 stages, Jonas Abrahamsen has spent 12 hours, 9 minutes and 30 seconds in breakaways… That represents 38% of his total race time! Omnipresent since the Italian Grand Départ, the Norwegian attacker was especially aggressive today, averaging 44.3km over 167km at the front (most of it on his own) to secure a second combativity award in this edition.

Mr breakaways - Abrahamsen - Tour de France 2024

1984: Abrahamsen is set to beat Peeters

With a margin of 13 points on Tadej Pogacar (33 vs 20) at the top of the KOM standings, Jonas Abrahamsen is, barring incidents, set to retain the polka dot jerseys at least until Wednesday, since there are only 4 KOM points up for grabs in stage 9 and none on day 10. A couple of years ago, Magnus Cort Nielsen was the first leader of the KOM standings and he only lost the jersey on day 9. Abrahamsen is already set to beat that reference. The only time the first leader of the KOM standings carried the polka dot jersey into the second week happened in 1984, when Ludo Peeters lost it to Jean-René Bernaudeau in stage 10.

2-2: Eritrea matches South Africa

When Biniam Girmay sprinted to victory in Turin, Eritrea became the second African nation with a stage win in the Tour, in the wake of South Africa. Girmay’s record of two victories now matches the tally of Robert Hunter (Montpellier 2007) and Daryl Impey (Brioude 2019).

1-3: De Lie stays behind Girmay

With a place of 3rd, Arnaud de Lie finished in the top-3 for the second time in the Tour de France. He was already 3rd in Turin… And he already witnessed Biniam Girmay.

2: Intermarché-Wanty enjoys the Bini effect

After they went winless in their first six Tours, Intermarché-Wanty are now up to two successes in the first eight stages of this edition!