2018 Edition

Stages won 0
Overall ranking 8
Competitors in race 6
Sporting managers : BALDATO Fabio / PIVA Valerio https://www.bmc-switzerland.com/fr-fr/experience/equipes-racing/bmc-racing-team/


The BMC Racing Team, the spiritual heir to the Phonak squad led by American Jim Ochowicz, accelerated its rise when it seized the opportunity to sign then-world champion Cadel Evans in late 2009. His defeat at the hands of Carlos Sastre in 2008 had not taken the edge off the Aussie's burning ambition, and he was at loggerheads with Silence-Lotto. He took back the yellow jersey in Avoriaz during the 2010 Tour, but a broken elbow caused him to surrender it after just one day. This did not stop him from finishing the race despite the pain.

In 2011, in contrast, everything fell into place for him: Second in the Les Essarts team time trial, while Evans went on to triumph on the "Breton Alpe d'Huez" (Mûr-de-Bretagne) before moving within striking distance of yellow on the real Alpe d'Huez, the last climb of the 98th Tour de France. He then leapfrogged Andy Schleck in the Grenoble time trial to become the first Tour de France champion from the Southern Hemisphere (and the first former mountain biker).

The team's financial backer, Swiss billionaire Andy Rihs, was on cloud nine. After all the hard knocks of the Landis affair in 2006, this wine and cycling aficionado had sworn he would never head a team again, but he never really abandoned his riders until his death in April 2018. BMC has been one of the heavy hitters of the Tour de France since 2010. Evans passed on the torch to Tejay van Garderen, fifth overall and best young rider in the 2012 Tour and again fifth in 2014, but the American disappointed and the leader's mantle passed to Australia's Richie Porte, a former lieutenant of Chris Froome who also finished fifth in 2016 but suffered a nasty crash on the descent of Mont du Chat in 2017. Italian Damiano Caruso stepped up to the plate and finished eleventh in Paris. 33-year-old Porte still hopes to finish on the podium knowing that Evans won the Tour at the ripe age of 34.

  • Final victory 1
  • Stages victories 5
  • Yellows Jerseys 7
  • Other race Won 1

Overall wins : 1

  • 2011: Cadel Evans

Stage wins : 5

  • 2011: Cadel Evans in Mûr-de-Bretagne
  • 2015: Rohan Dennis in Utrecht, team time trial in Plumelec and Greg Van Avermaet in Rodez
  • 2016: Greg Van Avermaet at Le Lioran

Secondary classification wins : 1

  • 2012: Tejay van Garderen (best young rider)

Yellow jerseys : 7

  • 2010: Cadel Evans, one day
  • 2011: Cadel Evans, two days
  • 2015: Rohan Dennis, one day
  • 2016: Greg Van Avermaet, three days


5: the overall place of Tejay van Garderen in the 2012 and 2014 Tours de France and Richie Porte in 2016.


11 July 2010 : Cadel Evans claims BMC's first yellow jersey in Avoriaz despite a broken elbow.

23 July 2011 : Cadel Evans finishes second in the Grenoble time trial (behind Tony Martin) to become the first Tour de France champion from the Southern Hemisphere.

Follow us

Receive exclusive news about the Tour

Partners of Le Tour

By browsing this site, you accept the use of Cookies in order to offer to you an advertising tailored to your interests, and to perform traffic statistics.

To find out more