Stage town for the 2nd time
Capital of the canton of Côtes-d'Armor (22)
Population: 7,260 (Perrosiens, Perrosiennes)
Personalities: Thierry Le Luron (imitator, humorist), Guy Ignolin (cycling)
Specialties: Scallops, abalone, spiders and lobsters. Salted butter caramel pancake.
Sport: Seven Islands Surf Club. Events: Vertical Perroz (skydiving)
Culture: Comic strip festival (April), Les hortensias en fête (fest-noz, August), Annual show of the Patrouille de France (August)
Motto: " araok bepred " (always forward)
Slogan: La Vie en Roz !
Labels: Charter " A beach without plastic waste, for eco-exemplary coastal communities " / Tourist resort / Bathing water quality / Surfing city 2 waves / Flowered city 3 flowers / Land of games 2024 / We Are Rugby 2023 / Active and sporty city ** / Ploumanac'h Favourite Village of the French
Websites: www.perros-guirec.com et www.perros-guirec.bzh / www.lannion-tregor.com / www.cotesdarmor.fr / www.bretagne.bzh
PERROS-GUIREC, A STORY
Crossroads of artists and travellers
Commune of 7,500 inhabitants, bordered by 12 km of coastline, alternately ports, rocks, creeks or large sandy beaches, Perros-Guirec has a distant past behind it. Since the Antiquity, the port of Ploumanac'h has been an important place of commercial exchanges with Europe. The arrival of the train in Lannion in 1881 opened a new era for the village, until then unknown. In 1885, Joseph Le Bihan, advised by the famous writer Ernest Renan, acquired a piece of land in Trestraou to found the Hôtel de la Plage, the first tourist establishment.
Why Perros-Guirec? The etymological origin of Perros is Pen-Ar-Roz. The association of the two words in Breton Penn (head, point, cape) and Roz (rose, the color and the mound) can be translated by "the point of the hill" or the "cape of the rose" recalling the Pink Granite Coast. This inspired the slogan of the city: La Vie en Roz!
Artists, painters and writers frequented the inns of La Clarté and Ploumanac'h. One could meet Charles Le Goffic, Anatole Le Braz, Gabriel Vicaire. The landscapes of Perros-Guirec inspired and became a laboratory of ideas for many painters such as Henri Rivière, Albert Clouard, Jean-Laurent Challie, Georges Sabbagh, Jules-Emile Zingg or even Maurice Denis who bought in 1908 the Ville Silencia in Trestrignel. From 1907 to 1913, the painters Le Fauconnier, André Favory, Yves Alix, Conrad Kickert, Marcel Gromaire took part in a cubist experiment. Perros-Guirec is also a must for comic book lovers. The 9th art has had a festival in town since 1994.
PERROS-GUIREC AND CYCLING
Perros-Guirec has already hosted the Tour de France in 1995, for the start of a stage won in a sprint in Vitré by Mario Cippolini and at the end of which Laurent Jalabert had taken the Yellow Jersey thanks to the bonuses gained on the way, one year to the day after his fall in Armentières. For Cippolini, who had already won a stage in 1993, it was his second success in the Tour. Ten more were to follow.
The city has been on the route of most Breton stage races, such as the Ruban granitier breton, the Tour d'Armorique and the Tour de Bretagne, and hosted the start of a stage of the Tour de l'Avenir in 1993.
Winner of three stages of the Tour de France in 1961 and 1963, Guy Ignolin had settled near Perros-Guirec, where he died in 2011. A cyclosportive named after him is organised here every year.
Pink Granite Coast
In the department of Côtes-d'Armor, between Trébeurden and Perros-Guirec, it owes its name to the gigantic granite blocks that emerge from the moor, along the coastline. It is A kingdom of small creeks with white sand and turquoise water. Three coastlines in the world have this particularity of pink granite, resulting from the mixture of three minerals, mica, feldspar and quartz: one is located in China, the other in Corsica and the last one in Brittany. This natural geological curiosity deserves more than one visit. From east to west, the route starts at the rocks of Ploumanac'h in Perros-Guirec, a former fishing port that has become a seaside resort, with its two marinas and three large beaches.
Archipelago of the Seven Islands
Off the Pink Granite Coast, between Perros-Guirec and Trégastel, is the Archipelago of the Seven Islands (Rouzic Island, Malban Island, Bono Island, Île aux Moines, Île Plate, les Costans, les Cerfs), undisputed kingdom of sea birds. This group of rocky islets is a natural site protected since 1912 and listed as a Nature Reserve in 1976. It is home to more than 25,000 pairs of birds (puffins, gannets...). On Rouzic Island, there is a French colony of gannets. A group of about thirty grey seals also lives on the island.
The Traouïero valley
Located in the heart of the Pink Granite Coast, the Traouïero are two deep valleys where two streams flow into the natural harbor of Ploumanac'h. The valley is a listed natural site, wooded valley, granite chaos, caves, great botanical wealth. Rocky chaos with mysterious shapes where the tales and legends of Brittany were born.
Chapel of Notre-Dame de la Clarté
The chapel Notre-Dame de la Clarté was built in the middle of the 15th century. A real architectural jewel, classified as a Historical Monument, it presents a mixture of Renaissance, Gothic and new architecture styles. Made of granite, the Notre-Dame de la Clarté chapel houses a beautiful Way of the Cross made in 1931 by Maurice Denis, as well as a 17th century spire. Patron saint of sailors, it also has three models of boats hanging in front of the altar, as well as an oak statue of the Virgin. In the adjoining cemetery lies the comedian and impersonator Thierry Le Luron.
Village of Ploumanac'h
Ploumanac'h, a harbour village which is part of Perros-Guirec, was consecrated in 2015 "favourite village of the French". A unique village, reflecting the charm of Brittany. Ploumanac'h is famous for its pink granite rocks, the highest of which can rise to more than 20 meters. This natural mirror of the Breton land has become a tourist site. It welcomes more than one million visitors per year. Another characteristic of Ploumanac'h is its natural harbour, which is one of the most protected of the north coast of Brittany. It is formed by the meeting of two streams.
Lighthouse of Ploumanac'h
It indicates the entrance of the pass leading to the eponymous port. This monument is entirely made of pink granite and was originally erected in 1860. Destroyed by the Germans during the Second World War, it was completely rebuilt in 1946. Work of the architects Henry Auffret and Joel Hardion, it presents in its interior very beautiful mosaics of Odorico. Fifteen meters high, it offers an unobstructed view of the castle of Costaérès, the island of Renote, and the archipelago of the Seven Islands.
Castle of Costaérès
The manor was built on an islet bought by Bruno Abakanowicz, an engineer and mathematician of Polish origin, in 1892 from the customs officer René Le Brozec, who grew potatoes and dried lichen and fish on it. It was completed around 1896 by the engineer Lanmoniez and the Lannion entrepreneur Pierre Le Tensorer. After 1900, date of the owner's death, his daughter Sofia, who became Madame Poray, extended the villa with a wing to the west, in return on the rear façade. During the Second World War, the villa was confiscated by the German army and suffered some interior damage. On September 6, 1990, following roofing work, a fire partially destroyed the interior of the building. The image of this castle on its island is often used to illustrate postcards and tourist guides of the Pink Granite Coast, the Côtes-d'Armor and Brittany.