The peloton usually passes through Le Bourg d’Oisans on route to the climb to Alpe d’Huez. But the Isère town has also been the starting point for many historic mountain stages, such as the one that concluded with Fausto Coppi’s demonstration at Sestrières in 1952. However, Saint-Étienne has been the most frequent destination for stages departing from Le Bourg d’Oisans. This will be the fifth time that the riders have raced between these two stage towns: Franco Chioccioli in 1992, Maximilian Sciandri in 1995, Ludo Dierckxsens in 1999 and Marcus Burghardt in 2008 were the victors on the previous occasions.

  • Stage town for the 23rd time
  • Town in Isère (38)
  • Population: 3,300 (Bourcats and Bourcates), 10,700 in the 19 communes comprising the Oisans municipality

Follow us

Receive exclusive news about the Tour