The joint history of the Tour de France and Briançon began in 1922 with a stage victory for Philippe Thys, who was already the first triple winner of the race. Subsequently, the town that was fortified by Vauban has witnessed victories by the most illustrious climbers, including Tour winners Gino Bartali, Louison Bobet, Fausto Coppi, Charly Gaul, Gastone Nencini, Federico Bahamontes and Eddy Merckx. The last start from Briançon in 2017 produced one of Warren Barguil’s fondest memories, as he won atop the Col d’Izoard in the polka dot jersey.

  • Stage town for the 35th time
  • Sub-prefecture of Hautes-Alpes (05)
  • Population: 12,800 (Briançonnais and Briançonnaises), 141,000 in Hautes-Alpes

Follow us

Receive exclusive news about the Tour