Italy’s largest seaside resort stretches across more than 15 kilometres of beach. The birthplace of Federico Fellini, director of La Dolce Vita, and Hugo Pratt, creator of the seafaring adventurer Corto Maltese, has hosted nine Giro finishes since 1932. Italian riders have taken the lion’s share, but Belgian stage winner extraordinaire Rik Van Looy took one of his 37 Grand Tour victories in Rimini in 1959. Arnaud Démare’s more modest palmarès also includes a win in Rimini during his most successful Giro in 2020, when he finished with the cyclamen points jersey and four stage wins.


  • First-time stage town
  • Town in the Emilia-Romagna region
  • Population: 151,000 (Riminesi)



  • Region of northern Italy
  • Surface area: 22,510km2
  • Population: 4,460,000 (Emilian-Romagnols)


Follow us

Receive exclusive news about the Tour