Set in the heart of the Isère valley, the town occupies a strategic position that formerly encouraged its development as an industrial centre, and has also allowed it to see the peloton pass on an almost annual basis during the Tour’s stints in the Alps. Moûtiers has twice featured as the launch pad for mountain stages, the first time in 1973 on a day when, according to L’Équipe’s subsequent headline, “Luis Ocaña blew up the Tour” with victory at the resort of Les Orres. The Spaniard, who was already wearing the Yellow Jersey that day, finished off the competition for good: after just eight stages, Bernard Thévenet was more than ten minutes behind.

  • Stage town for the 4th time
  • Municipality in Savoie (73)
  • Population: 3,600 (Moutiérains and Moutiéraines)

Follow us

Receive exclusive news about the Tour