Sunday March 12th, 2017

Stage 8Nice / Nice

Start 13h55 (Local time)

Henao knows what to expect

Sporting stakes11.03.2017Stage 8- Nice / Nice

Sergio Henao (Team Sky) know what to expects. A year ago, he had been the man in charge of looking after Geraint Thomas and protect the Welshman's yellow jersey against the attacks of his rivals, led by Alberto Contador. And it worked. Leading the Race to the Sun by 15 seconds after the penultimate stage, Thomas had kept a four seconds lead on the Promenade des Anglais. The Colombian champion's margin is twice as large into the final day of racing and if history repeats itself, he should be in a position to keep Paris-Nice a Team Sky property, the British outfit having won four of the last five editions with Bradley Wiggins (2012), Richie Porte (2013 and 2015) and Thomas a year ago. As his team director Nicolas Porte said: "We always talk about Sky's domination on the Tour de France, but Paris-Nice is also a race we know in detail."  For the sake of entertainment, everyone would love to see Contador harass Henao with the same zeal as he attacked Thomas last year. In the ascent of Col de la Couillole, the Spaniard slightly dropped the Colombian and there might be weaknesses to exploit in this short and exciting finale. But Henao himself made it clear he was more weary of Ireland's Dan Martin, who returned to rob  him of third place in stage 7, and can count on a strong quick Step team, spearheaded by Julian Alaphilippe, one of the sensations of this edition. While he can no longer bid for final victory, the young Frenchman is ideally placed to clinch the white and green jerseys before hoping for more in a near future.    

  • History repeats itself for Sky, Henao… and Contador

    History repeated itself on Sunday for Team Sky's Sergio Henao and Alberto Contador, who battled it out in a nail-biting final stage of Paris-Nice before the Spaniard was forced to concede defeat for two seconds. Already beaten a year ago by a slim four-second margin by another Team Sky rider, Geraint Thomas, the 2007 and 2010 winner of the Race to the Sun again failed by the blink of an eye as the British outfit conquered their fifth final victory in six years with four different riders....

    read more

Stage 8 Nice / Nice

All about the stage key moments

Official Timekeeper

Jersey wearers after the stage 8

Classifications after the stage 8


Receive exclusive news about Paris-Nice

Partners of Paris-Nice