Stage city for the 71st time

Prefecture of Pyrenees-Atlantiques (64) 

77 600 inhabitants (Palois)

162 000 inhabitants (Communaute and agglomeration Pau Bearn Pyrenees)

This will be the 71st time that Pau hosts the Tour de France. The love story between the city and the event started in 1930, when the stage was won by Italian Alfredo Binda. This base camp, before or after taking on the Pyrenees, offers all types of terrain and profiles and has crowned very different riders, from climbers such as René Vietto and Fausto Coppi to breakaway specialists such as Erik Breukink and Pierrick Fédrigo. Among the sprinters, Sean Kelly, Erik Zabel, Robbie McEwen and Marcel Kittel all triumphed here before Arnaud Démare claimed his second stage Tour win in 2018.

Palais Beaumont, Pau © GettyImages

Follow us

Receive exclusive news about the Tour

By browsing this site, you accept the use of Cookies in order to offer to you an advertising tailored to your interests, and to perform traffic statistics.

To find out more